the in-between: that phase between engaged and babies

love marriage babyMore now than any other time in my life (thus far), I am completely aware of the transitional periods that life throws upon us.  For example, those few months between college graduation and “the real world” presented many challenging moments for me as I tried to figure out those inevitable questions “Who am I?” and “What do I do now?”.

But while those days were rough in their own way, this new phase of life certainly brings up many new ideas and challenges that I’ve really never given too much thought to in the past.

When you’re a single lady, as I was for nearly 28 1/2 years, your ideology is focused on friends, job, bills, and boys.  You spend most of your time texting with your friends and Facebook stalking all of those ex-crushes from your past.  On the weekends, you daydream over glasses of wine what life would be like with a boyfriend.

Then you find yourself with a boyfriend… and before you know it, you’re in love. 

And soon you’re engaged and planning a wedding.

But what no one really tells you is that once the bliss of the engagement wears off, you find yourself stuck in the spotlight of decision-making.  Every phone call is asking about dates, venues, colors, and guest lists.  Every email is about bridal shows, dresses, flowers, and registries.

To be honest, I keep thinking to myself, Can’t we just get married already?  Should we just elope and get it over with?  I bring it up to Cubby every other week just to see how he’s doing.  I mean we are about thirteen and a half months from the BIG DAY and most days I don’t want to wait!  I always tell him, “I would have married you yesterday”.

Okay, enough of the gushy stuff.  I still need to take about babies!!

Babies! Babies! Babies!

All over my Facebook feed, people are announcing their pregnancies.  People from high school, from college, from past jobs… everyone is having babies!  It’s such a beautiful time in life for these people.

With being around kids at least five days a week, and seeing all of these adorable baby pictures, I’ll come forth and admit that I’ve found myself thinking about having babies of my own.  Okay, I’ve done more than thinking about it- I’ve actually started making a list of baby names.  Crazy, right?  What’s crazy is that I’m more worried that someone will take my names before I have these children I’m daydreaming about.  (I admit, I really am crazy.)

But seriously, is this normal?  Am I normal?  Once you’ve set a wedding date, does is the brain programmed to start thinking about babies?

All I know is that the thirties are proving to bring a lot of changes into my life, and I’m actually ready for them.  Although, I think I’ll wait another two years (or more) to have a baby.

 

XOXO
K

Leave a comment