ten years later.

A lot can happen in ten years.  For some people, they can fall in love… become engaged… get married… and have a baby.  For others, they may study abroad and only come back to The States every other Christmas.  Then there are those who enroll law school or med school and lose track of time (and their social life)altogether.

But for me, the past ten years since I graduated high school have, in essence, taken me away from everything I knew during the first 18 years of my life.  (Interesting enough, I say this as I prepare to embark on a roadtrip back to Pittsburgh with Cubby, my boyfriend.)  However, ever since I made the decision to plan my 10-year high school reunion this week, high school doesn’t seem that long ago… until I think about everything that has changed since my teenage year.

I don’t talk much about my high school days, and really haven’t done so since I left “The Bubble” (which is what we all used to call our hometown) officially before my sophomore year of college.  In essence, so many things have happened since then, and I’ve grown so much, that they really are simply part of past now.  They include some good memories, as well as some bad ones.  But most importantly, as I reflect upon that time in my life, I have no regrets.  Now I’ll be honest and admit that wasn’t always the case; however, ten years later, I’ve finally let it all go.

Leave a Reply

