i wasn’t looking for this… but now you’re in my way.   1 comment

Kelly Clarkson recently stated that her happy relationship (and wonderful boyfriend) were ruining her creativity (aka her ‘angry girl music’).  Well, in a way I guess I can say the same about me.  Since my relationship with Tony began (approximately) two months ago, I’ve found myself failing to find any reason to sit down and write out a blog post.  Okay, part of that may be a result of not having much time to myself with all of the guests that I’ve been hosting lately, but still, I think it’s safe to say that my A*MAY*ZING boyfriend has something to do with it to.  I mean, honestly, and those that know him will agree, there is nothing bad to say about him and our relationship.  Absolutely nothing.  And if there was, then it would be that I’m not sure if I’m fully deserving of being with such a wonderful guy… but let’s not go there tonight, okay?

So, since I haven’t really written much about him and our relationship on this little ol’ blog of mine, I can start by sharing our story. 

Once upon a time, on a Sunday Funday (or Sunday, April 15, 2012), I found myself engaging in some all-day drinking with a few friends before heading to my favorite Chicago (Sunday country music bar) for dinner and another drink.  (Note: This bar is also where I met Cleveland, as well as another former hookup, so it’s been known for shenanigans.)  Minutes after our arrival, I began conversing with a friend of Cubby’s while Jenny (one of my best friends) soon started talking to Cubby.  (Honestly, I didn’t even remember seeing him.)  Now some, or most, of the details are blurry, but I do remember him insisting on buying me another screwdriver after mine was knocked over, and when he went to scout out the server Jenny saying, “He thinks you’re cute.  Go talk to him.”  So I did…or rather he started talking to me.  Again, it’s kinda blurry, but I will say that at one point he asked for my phone number and assured my cynical self that he was going to call me the next day and take me out the following week/weekend.  (He followed through.) 

Since that night, Cubby has been nothing but incredible.  I’d say perfect, but I don’t want him to start slacking off.  (He wouldn’t anyways, but let’s play it safe here.)  As I sit here and write tonight, I can only hope that I can treat him as well as he treats me. 

But I also cannot help but think about all of the times I’ve written about love and relationships on this blog, feeling both hopeful and hopeless.  Above all, I remember wanting to experience it so badly, even though I wasn’t sure if I would ever truly be someone’s girlfriend.  Despite those uncertainties and the ones I addressed during my last post, I am someone’s girlfriend; and although I’m not the best girlfriend (yet), I’m a very lucky girl to call him mine. 

Looking back on the past two months, I’ll say that I really wasn’t (necessarily) looking to be in a relationship; however, I think this blog is proof that I’ve been looking for a guy like Cubby for a very long time.  While I don’t know what the future holds for us, I will say that I’m so glad that he came into my life when he did.  Like I said, I’m a very lucky girl. 

XOXO

Cubby’s Favorite Song (Seriously): Call Me Maybe by Carly Rae Jepsen

One response to “i wasn’t looking for this… but now you’re in my way.

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tony is amazing!! And that damn Call Me Maybe song is SO CATCHY, I want to hate it but can’t. GRR! So glad you’re happy !!!

Leave a Reply

