the sun goes down, the stars come out. and all that counts is here and now. my universe will never be the same. i’m glad you came.   Leave a comment

Tonight, for the first time in at least a year, I got off my Brown Line stop and headed down Diversey to the apartment at roughly a decent hour for a weekday night.  (Around 6 pm, I believe.)  Actually, after getting off the train and heading home- with a detour through Trader Joe’s first- I wondered,Wait, did I make this whole spring break thing up and should really be in class right now?  Yes, unfortunately that’s the truth.  It sounds like this spring break arrived at the perfect time.

Anyways, as the evening sky darkened, I found myself experiencing some sort of the deja vu.  Soon I found myself recalling all of those previous walks home from the train stop that accompanied my relocation to Chicago more than three years ago.  As some know, back in the beginning no one- including me- thought that I would make it through the year without moving back to Columbus.  However, here I am nearly 3.5 years later, and all I can think about is how much has changed.

For goodness sake, this past year has been an array of changes in itself.  From leaving the job that brought here to beginning a full-time grad school program for Child Life, my daily life has kept me on my toes and clinging to any chance of a social life that I could grasp.  To tell you the truth, my social life hasn’t been too adventurous lately; however, overall this past year has allotted a fair share of OMG moments.  And the wrap-up of this past year couldn’t go without mentioning the boys that somehow found their way into my life.  Yeah, some of those situations should more appropriately be classified as WTF moments.  However, even thought I had some luck in the guy department this past year, I can stress that there is neither a ring on my finger nor a bun in the oven.  Heck, there isn’t even an “It’s complicated” status for this girl anymore.

But then again, while this year has been somewhat adventurous, it also hasn’t been easy.  Along with all the changes, I found myself struggling at different points of the year.  (Oh well, enough about that.)

As I lay in my bed, ready to fall asleep at the time that I typically arrive home from class, I find myself reflecting back on my time in Chicago and all of the obstacles that I’ve fought to overcome.  Wow.  It’s really been a wild ride these past 3.5 years, hasn’t it?  And to tell you the truth, when I think about every single challenge that I faced, I also remember the friends- either in or outside of Chicago- that helped me adapt to this new life.

While I’m not entirely sure if I’ve reached the point where I truly see Chicago as “home”, I will say that tonight’s walk home allowed me to see just how much of a life I have made for myself here.  I guess it’s best to end this post by saying, “I’m glad I came to Chicago in the first place.”

Song of the Moment: Glad You Came by The Wanted

Leave a Reply

