you and tequila make me crazy- or at least very honest.

I’ve mentioned my “No Tequila Pact” before, sharing that I regularly make my friends’ swear that no shots of tequila will be joining us on our nights out.  (Margaritas are okay.)  Trust me, for everyone’s benefit- especially mine- it better if I stay away from it.  Per usual, that was the plan for last night, but there’s a “but” and a “however” unfortunately.  Oddly enough I kept my No Tequilla Pact for most of the night, including a free shot twenty minutes before I (somehow) ended up splitting a shot with a friend.  (I’m not even going to justify that 1/2 a shot isn’t technically a shot.)

So at first I didn’t hold that tequila responsible for the game of 21 Questions that began almost-immediately following that 1/2 shot of tequila, but thinking about it today, well, I may have to hold the tequila somewhat responsible.  (And perhaps that {free} shot of Jager and two glasses of wine.).  I agreed to it, and maybe even initiated it, so I take full responsibility for my actions.  But out of curiosity, I wonder how different my answers may have been if it wasn’t for the tequila.  Guess we’ll never know…

I’m not going to get too detailed here, or at least that wasn’t the intention of my post.  However, I feel it’s necessary to explain that this game of 21 Questions was played with the best friend (guy) of someone who I’m going to start referring to as “The Good Guy”.  Note: “The Good Guy” has been mentioned on here plenty times before, never by name and mostly written about inadvertently, as he’s been someone I’ve had my mind on and find impossible not to be interested in. Trust me on this.  And yes, we hooked up once last winter.  Anyways, somehow I found myself enjoying the company (completely platonically) of his best friend, who through our game I learned had no idea of any past rendezvous until the question was asked and my very honest answers started spilling out somewhere around Question 9 or 10:

Best Friend: Who at this table would you hook up with? 

Me: (Smiled, and playfully avoided answering.)

Best Friend: (Figuring something was up.) Have you hooked up with someone at this table? 

Me: (More unconstrained smiles.) Yes.

Best Friend: Who?

Me: (Being too honest, damn tequilla.) “The Good Guy.” 

To continue with the honesty, I’ll admit that things are a bit blurry from there on out.  Best Friend seemed surprised, but happily so.  Phrases like “at your wedding standing next to him as his best man” and “You said you’ve been in love 1.5 times, does that include someone at this table?” led to a lot of interesting diagloue- including me admitting (under the influence of tequila) that “He is someone who I could fall in love with.”

So yeah, in short that was where the night with tequila took me.  While I semi-pleaded with Best Friend not to say anything, I’m not sure if I really care.  It’s just one of those situations where it really is out of your hands- for now at least.  Best Friend has the information- if he remembers it, after all he had that shot of tequila too- and it’s strictly his choice as to what he wants to do with it.  In a way he is controlling a part of my life.

To tell you the truth, a chance with “The Good Guy” is worth the vulnerability and uncertainty that I feel right now.  Some of my best friends know something of how I’ve felt about him since he came into my life a few months back.  But then again, I don’t know if I’ve fully been able to understand my feelings for him.  In an odd way, I’ve been able to keep it somewhat-cool with him, which really has me questioning the role he could potentially play in my life and my heart.  The honest truth is I don’t know what’s next with “The Good Guy”.  As crazy as it sounds, I really don’t have any expectations right now.  Since learning how truly amazing he is I’ve said, “I could be a very lucky girl to call him mine”  As I said to Best Friend before watching him walk away with “The Good Guy” into the Chicago night skyline, “He’s amazing and even though we, girls, tend to go for the bad boys, I know he is too good not to like.”

Ladies, trust me when I tell you that he is proof that good guys are still out there.

*This post was partly inspired by the song, You and Tequila by Kenny Chesney.

6 thoughts on “you and tequila make me crazy- or at least very honest.

  1. Oh my gosh I am laughing soo hard right now, as I sit here in bed with my tequila hangover. And I really hope that you and good guy end up dating and showing you that you really can and do deserve happiness.

    xoxo

    1. Lol. I hope so too, but trying not to hope too much because that’s when things end up not happening. He’s proven to be pretty great and one day I hope I can share more about him.

    1. I always forget about those!!! So, you know that means you’re the one I willingly break the No Tequila Pact for! 🙂 Miss you!! I’ll email you more details soon. XOXO

  2. *giggling merrily*

    I won’t even go into my tequila story…as it is one of the most embarrassing moments of my life, save to say that it is THE NIGHT of the worst side-pocket pool shot EVER…and taught me squarely that Jose is not my friend (except in the occasional margarita). Sounds like your dance with Jose was far more positive-outcome-oriented than mine was – and I say that with nearly 16 years distance. 😉

    1. love the *giggling merrily*!!!

      Oh, trust me, I’ve had some embarrassing tequila nights as to why the No Tequila Pact exists in the first place. Yeah, I got lucky that Jose (or perhaps it was Patron) treated me more kindly. Thank goodness it was only 1/2 a shot and I didn’t have that Sugar-Free Red Bull.

Leave a Reply

