if i could change one thing about this world, i’d tell all the little girls never to believe a guy when he says he’s going to call. (he won’t, so don’t wait around believing he will.)

This really shouldn’t be bothering me.  (But it is.)  This is exactly what I always knew I had to do.  (But maybe I had a little bit of hope that I’d never have to?)  As foolish as I was feeling last week, I’m feeling twice that today.  I’m also disappointed (in him) and perhaps a bit angry.  What is the point in lying to someone?  Why lie to someone who has not only been patient and given you the benefit of every single doubt, but someone who has been completely honest with you too?  Doesn’t sound fair, does it?  But then again I cannot blame him because I should have walked away a while ago.

I shouldn’t have been waiting for him to call yesterday morning, even if he said he would.  I shouldn’t have been laying around- failing to concentrate on my studying- hoping that the phone would ring and we’d finally have time together again.  And when he didn’t, I shouldn’t have been at the point where I was so let down.

I shoudn’t have let myself get to the point where his actions- or better put, lack thereof- would hurt me as much as they have.  I thought I protected myself enough to not let it hurt.  But somewhere between his last visit and my final words, “Good luck with everything.”, I let myself be vulnerable enough to get hurt.  I told him I’d take a chance (on him) and I guess I really did.

I’m not sure if I want to say anything else or if there’s even anything left to say.  In truth, I want him to say some things but his unexplained absence has me doubting that wish will come true.  I can’t wait around anymore.  I’ve done too much of that already.

I just wish someone would have told me, as a young girl, to never believe a guy when he says he’s going to call.  If I could change one thing about this world, I’d tell all the little girls never to believe a guy when he says he’s going to call.  That’s what I would do.  I would say, “He won’t, so don’t wait around believing he will.  Never wait around for a boy to call.” 

2 thoughts on “if i could change one thing about this world, i’d tell all the little girls never to believe a guy when he says he’s going to call. (he won’t, so don’t wait around believing he will.)

  1. Wow. I feel like I should have written this post. Last week. Yup i’m still (not) waiting for that phone call too.
    It’s the world’s greatest mind f@%k. Somehow guys seem to have that power over us. To fool us, and then do it again. We seem to be under some “hope” spell when guys we like are around. We hope they mean it. We hope this time he will call. We hope he’s worth it. We hope we saw it wrong and that despite our gut feeling, some miracle will happen…pffff.
    I feel you on this one girl.

    Oh and YES it should bother you. Why is it again that guys say they will do something and then end up not doing it?
    Why do they lead us on? Is it to keep us on a low fire? or is it because they prefer not to deal with telling us some harsh truth?
    I’d rather know from a guy he’s not interested, then wait forp a phone call thats not coming. Did I say pffffff?!

    So what have my friends told me before: Always keep the ball in your hand. Dont ask him to call you. Tell him you’ll call and then have him waiting 😉

    1. Pffffff! back at you!! If I told you the entire story behind the situation, you may die with frustration! I’m still baffled AND still haven’t heard from him at all. To say I don’t get it is the biggest understatement. I could say so much, but I’m choosing to be the bigger person here. And not only that, I don’t want to admit it hurts me as much as it does. Seriously though, I’ve been begging for him to say “I’m over you.” or “I can’t do this anymore.”, but instead I just get the lies about “I’ll call you tomorrow.” Pffffff!

Leave a Reply

