august 29, 2011: grad school.

When discovering about my pending move to Chicago (about three years ago), my dad informed me that my recent graduate self once announced that I was going to apply for grad school in Chicago.  I guess I found some program- maybe journalism- at Northwestern and was convinced that it was the place for me.  Small college town near a big city: That’s where I thought I should be.  That little announcement, which I don’t remember making, would have been five years ago when I was suffocating living back at my parents’ house after those incredible 3 years at OU.  There’s so much irony there and for one, I never once set foot in Chicago- or even Illinois- at that time.

The crazy and most beautiful thing about life is that you never know where you’re going to end up.  At that time, all I wanted to do was move to Columbus and never come back to Pittsburgh again.  Child Life hadn’t yet been introduced to my vocabulary and I was still trying to figure out what to do with a general Bachelor’s Degree in English.  Fast forward to now, August 29, 2011, and the majority of people in my inner circle have heard me mention the term “Child Life” dozens of times and know about my decision to work full-time and enroll in a 2-year grad program.  (And try to manage a volunteer calendar and social life.) 

So here we go.  There’s no looking back now.  Bear with me because I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride.

Leave a Reply

