has anybody ever told you they’d be lucky just to know you? yeah, there’s just something about you. has anybody ever told you?

You’re worth that adoration, Annie. You’re worth it. And the fact that you don’t believe it has nothing to do with whether it’s true or not.  It is true to me, and that’s all that matters. (Happythankyoumoreplease)

If I told you the story of this past week, you probably wouldn’t believe me.  You may cynically respond, “How is that even possible?  Is there even enough time to cram all of that into 7 days?  When did you sleep?”  Well, my answers would be, respectively: I don’t know, but it’s true./ Apparently there is./ Ha, I really didn’t.

Without going into the hour-by-hour details, I can tell you that life thrown a few surprises my way this week.  I’ve been tested- mentally, emotionally, and morally- in ways that I never thought I’d let myself experience.  With tears in my eyes (at times) I struggled between everything I always characterized myself as and the choices I was making- and not making.

But as I write this post, I cannot help but think about those choices that I did make these last few days.  For one, I dropped my guard and let a few people see the me that I tend to hide behind a smile and a put-together front.  I mean I let one of my best friends (Libby) hear me bawl my heart out instead of ignoring her call.  It wasn’t easy at all, but I knew it was what I had to do.  Additionally, even though I’ve fought it and continue to, I’ve allowed someone to expose my vulnerabilities and take a chance on me.  Again, it hasn’t been easy, but I’ll say that it’s one of those experiences in life that I’ll never forget and always appreciate.

Originally I was going to write about the power of honesty.  How by being honest with yourself, you are able to be honest with others. And then, because of this pattern, you allow others to be honesty. To tell you the truth, it’s the only way to be happy.  I’m still undergoing the process of applying this to my life, but I’ll admit that I’ve been honest with a variety of different people (over a few different topics) this week and it took some worries away.  All I can say is that I feel much better than I did at points last week- as well as this summer.  That’s what matters the most, right?  Letting yourself face challenges and take chances so that you can be stronger and more comfortable with yourself in the end.

*The title of this post is lyrics from Has Anybody Ever Told You by Ashley Monroe.

Leave a Reply

