why you gotta look so sad. why’d you pick today. don’t talk yourself out of this. we’re all afraid. they say it comes when you don’t look, so I’ll help you look away. you always try to make me smile. let me do the same.

I listened to the song  Until You Won Me Over by Trent Dobbs (which includes lyrics that also serve as the title of this post) over and over again yesterday.  For some reason I found comfort in these words.  They were not only soothing, but they were also a bit encouraging.

It’s no secret on my blog that I haven’t been feeling like myself lately.  While the summer funk- or possible Quarterlife Crisis- has plagued me all summer, this whole messy feeling really started in the last couple of weeks.  Whatever this is I just can’t shake it; and because of that, over time it’s becoming worse.

Yesterday I realized that while I’ve been opening up a bit on my blog and through a few emails, I’ve failed to do so with my friends.  I’ve failed to let them be there for me.  But yesterday I decided to let Libby in. Well, as much as I could.  I let her know that I haven’t been feeling quite like myself lately and we divulged in a few reasons why.  There’s still no real culprit(s) identified, which also means no solution found.  However, one decision has been made: Sadness Begone.  That, and I’m going to let my friends be there for me too.

One thought on “why you gotta look so sad. why’d you pick today. don’t talk yourself out of this. we’re all afraid. they say it comes when you don’t look, so I’ll help you look away. you always try to make me smile. let me do the same.

  1. I have felt the same thing. I am I guess more overwhelmed with life and shut people out. I feel like if I have to make decisions when I am overwhelmed I am more overwhelmed. I hate being in a funk. We are stronger than we think. Sometimes we are just doing too much and wd get lost is everything and can lose focus of what we are trying to do/ accomplish. I believe in order to get over the hump we just need to think optimistically and not let the small stuff get to us. We have so much to live for why dwell is the things that hinder us … Hold us back from who we are supposed to be and that is not questionable in my eyes for you. You are one of the most giving and you care so much about others you tend to not care about YOU. You have a good personality and compassionate with whom you come into contact with. Just dont loose sight of who you are an what your trying to become. I hope this hits home a bit Kristen. I do love and care for you miles away but close on heart.
    Xoxo
    JMac;)

Leave a Reply

