“she’s filled with magic.”

One way can be learned by starting to see the magic in everything.
Sometimes it seems to be hiding but it is always there.
The more we can see the magic in one thing, a tiny flower, a mango, someone we love, then the more we are able to see the magic in everything and in everyone.
~ Joshua Kadison

The few months ago I heard the most beautiful and sincere thing I’ve ever heard someone say about another person.  In describing about her former colleague and friend she spoke these four words, “She’s filled with magic.”  I actually responded by saying, “That’s the most people thing I’ve ever heard.”  It really was.  It’s my hope is that more people start telling others that he/she is “filled with magic”.  I mean how would you feel if someone told YOU that?  How could you not believe this beautiful line is spoken in truth?

As an almost twenty-eight year old, I am someone who still believes in magic.  Although, instead of hocus pocus and pixie dust, I believe that magic can be found within our every day lives.  Beautiful Magic.  Ordinary, yet Extraordinary Magic.  Magic that we must see to believe.  Magic that people stop believing because someone once told them that it doesn’t really exist. 

This week I’ve been able to see magic in a few forms.  The first unexpectedly stopped by my desk on Friday afternoon in the form of our friendly postman, James.  For some reason unbeknownst to me, James found it necessary to deliver me the most honest and humbling speech I’ve ever heard.  While I saw magic through his words, he decided it was his duty (for the day) to tell me that he sees magic within me.

Per usual I immediately wasn’t to respond with sarcasm; however, I remembered someone my mom once told me.  She said, “When someone does something for you, just say ‘thank you’.”  So I thanked James and let myself believe his words were spoken as the truth.

Today I experienced magic in the form of my adorable 2-year boyfriend, Max, who I had the honor to spend the day with.  Through his smile, laughter, and pure innocence, I breathed in the refreshing, child-influence air and despite yesterday’s stress I had a smile on my face from the moment he woke up from his nap until now- even if he’s been asleep for two hours now.  He is magic.  This little toddler is pure magic.  His parents (my friends) know it, and everyone who gets to spend time with him acknowledges it too.  While I love him to pieces, I am thankful that he’s been able to restore my belief that magic is more than an illusion.

Life is so much better when you believe in magic, and more so when you let yourself see the magic surrounding you.  It’s there.  It’s always there. 

Leave a Reply

