there were sounds in my head, little voices whispering, that i should go and this should end. oh and i found myself listening.

I cannot stop listening to Where I Stood (covered by Caroline County).  The song (original by Missy Higgins) was introduced to me by one of my best friends; the same friend that recently broke up with her boyfriend of 6 years and felt a strong connection to the song based on her situation. 

Now what I cannot figure out is why I have taken such a liking to this song.  I’m not the one who was battling doubts about her relationship; heck, I’m not even in a relationship to have doubts about.  So how is it that I find myself relating to this song?  Why do the lyrics hit home for me?  Why is it that little single me is questioning how the song pertains to her?

Even listening to it just now still has me at a lost for why I find myself so captivated with this song.  Why do I listen to every word so attentively and feel pain as though this is my story being told?

Here’s a thought…maybe I want it to be my story?  Maybe I want a chance to be in a relationship- just this one time?  Maybe I want the chance to fall in love?  Maybe I want the chance for someone to fall madly in love with me?  And maybe, just maybe, I want to be with someone who eliminates any doubts from my mind?  Maybe I want to know who I am when in a relationship?  Maybe I want to know who I can be with someone else by my side?

Leave a Reply

