and if you wait for someone else’s hand, you will surely fall down.

As a writer, I am always looking to be inspired by people; by words; by music.  Anything & Everything.  I keep my eyes, mind, and heart opened because I’ve learned that you never know when something is going to hit you. 

In watching this week’s episode of So You Think You Can Dance, I found Travis Wall’s choreography & story telling to be my muse yet again.  Here is the performance for you to watch and perhaps feel something yourself: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qobw4zVtj9Y.

The song, Turn to Stone by Ingrid Michaelson, struck a chord with me right away- which shouldn’t surprise anyone since this is similar to the others I’m typically sharing.  Add in the lyrics, including those used in the title of this post, and I was already opening up iTunes to download the song.  But in this case it was more than the song (itself) and the lyrics.  I found myself inspired by the performance and the message behind it.  (Travis Wall, you are a genius!)

There’s so much I could say now, although I find myself typing words only to go back and erase them.  Maybe this is one of those things that is meant to be felt instead of discussed.  Perhaps this is an example that inspiration cannot always be explained by words.  However, there are a few words of wisdom from a friend that I will share.  She said, “Life is about being happy and taking chances.  Sure, not every chance will turn out in your favor, but there will be some chances that become the turning point in your life.  And it’s very rare that we get second chances….”

With regards to this performance/song, I guess I will say that I found myself overcome with the notion that Two is Better Than One.  While I’m an advocate for being independent, I’ve been learning that one does not have to sacrifice his/her independence in a relationship.  In fact, together each individual can/should become stronger & more beautiful through the power of their love.  Now if that doesn’t inspire you to take a chance on love, then I don’t know what will?

And on that note, let me say that love is always a chance worth taking.  In fact, it may be safe to say that to achieve love you must be willing to take a chance.  It may not always be easy, and sometimes quite scary, but it is always worth it.

4 thoughts on “and if you wait for someone else’s hand, you will surely fall down.

  1. A year ago, I would have disagreed when you say that “love is always a chance worth taking.” I think because a year ago I just didn’t believe that love existed. Maybe because I was going through a bad dating trend at the time.

    But now? Now I whole-heartedly agree with you. And I’m not saying this just because I met someone, but because I’m gaining a new perspective on life. I’m finally learning to appreciate the small victories and let go of the things/people that don’t matter. And I’m starting to believe in love again, and I think it’s important that we all believe in SOMETHING bigger than ourselves.

    XOXO

    1. It’s crazy how parallel our lives are because a year ago I was in the same boat as you. I’m glad we’re on the same page now and can get one another through these changes in our lives. XOXO

Leave a Reply

