“be open and receptive to love.”

Birthday girl, Dina, ironically gave me a gift yesterday in the form of serenity and clarity as she shared this quote: “Be ready for love when it does come. Prepare the field and be ready to nourish love. Be loving, and you will be lovable. Be open and receptive to love.” 

First let me say that while my previous post was quite honest with how I was feeling at the time, I’m not sure if it was entirely fair to two people: Cute boy in the green shirt (whose name I’m choosing not to share) and myself.  While I’m hesitant to admit it and fall victim again to “The Jinx”, I had a good time on Saturday and glad I took the ballsy route and, dare I say, picked him up.  So even though my last post made it sound like my mind is still set on another, it’s not.  My heart is as open as it’s ever been, and I say that because I’ve come a long way.

Without rambling much here, I’ll acknowledge that besides battling a broken heart for a few years, my spirit has been broken for some time too.  I’m not here to dwell on that but rather state the facts.  I closed my heart a long time ago and I think it’s time to (slowly) open it again.  Afterall, be loving, and you will be lovable.

So I guess this can be construed as an apology to many people- including all the friends who I failed to trust and those boys who I wouldn’t allow to love me.  I also owe myself an apology for holding myself back so many times before.  And lastly, to the cute boy in the green shirt who I kissed on the rooftop overlooking Wrigley Field, I promise I won’t play my games with you.

Leave a Reply

