you never know who you’re going to fall in love with. you never know who’s going to come into your life.

There are no rules when it comes to love. I just try to let love surprise me because you never know who you’re going to fall in love with. You never know who’s going to come into your life – and for me, when I picture the person I want to end up with, I don’t think about what their career is, or what they look like. I picture the feeling I get when I’m with them.” (Taylor Swift)

After watching their adorable son for the day, my dear friends, Michelle & Bayard, delighted me in some good conversation over a late night dinner of Chipotle.  Somehow, unbeknownst to me, I became the third wheel on a trip down memory lane.  While Michelle has shared the details of their love story with me a few months ago, I was up for hearing Bayard’s version of the tale.  Although I enjoy being part of a couple’s reminiscing, I must admit that hearing it from two friends is probably the ideal situation (for me); and call me bias, but it’s even more favorable because I know that their Falling in Love in New York City led to their son, Max.  Having not known them years ago, it’s great to learn about their history and discover how it all began.  And not only that, I cannot begin explaining how adorable they were sharing even the tiny details on their first few meetings and how they finally knew that their Central Park outings were more than just a fling. 

Now instead of sharing the intimate details of this love affair, I will just extend this point that they made clear to me: You Never Know Who You’re Going to Fall in Love With. You Never Know Who’s Going to Come into Your Life. 

While waiting for the bus on Michigan Avenue, I caught eyes with another patient passenger.  No, sparks didn’t fly between us but this thought did go home with me: How do you know that you didn’t just see or walk past the (future) Love of Your Life? 

I, for one, am so ignorant when it comes to all things that can be categorized under Love.  For instance, if a David Beckham ringer walked past me, or even a group of DB-ringers, then most likely I wouldn’t have noticed…unless he was carrying a baby or walking a puppy.  In fact, I can assure you that there are dozens of times when friends have asked, “Did you just see that guy?!!”, and my response is always either, “Nope.” or “What guy?”.  I can still see the disappointment on Michelle’s face when I missed this one guy at CVS one morning, might I add, when I was holding her adorable son. 

Why am I going off on a tangent here- besides the obvious fact that it’s something I do best?  To be honest, I’m not quite sure myself.  I know that I had this epiphany a few months ago that may ring even truer (for me) today: I love being single, but I hate caring about someone.  My reasoning behind the ‘love being single’ part of this statement should be self-explanatory (and I don’t mean it in a hoochie way).  I mean who doesn’t love Answering to No One and Living Spontaneously with The Girls .  Not to mention the Unexpected Slumber Party on a Saturday Night is always nice too.

However, I will admit to cursing the single lifestyle a few times before (and maybe a bit now) because it’s not so enjoyable when you find yourself caring for someone who may not be caring for you in return.  But I can say that I’ve grown up a bit and no longer lose sleep stressing over this guy stuff (knock on wood) and instead I vent my emotions out over emails to friends and blog posts for any willing eyes to see.

Seriously though, I think that the best part about being single is Knowing that You’re Going to Fall Head-Over-Heels in Love with Someone Spectacular One Day.  That fact in itself is why I continue to love livin’ the single life, never knowing who’s going to come into my life. 

3 thoughts on “you never know who you’re going to fall in love with. you never know who’s going to come into your life.

  1. I’m so bad at leaving comments, but I promise you I’m reading your blog as much as I can!

    I believe that it’s true: you never know who you’re going to meet and who you are going to fall in love with. I certainly didn’t expect to be in a relationship with someone in Australia, but the world is a crazy place and sometimes you have to take chances you wouldn’t normally take.

    xoxo

    1. Thank you! This blog is my life and all the lessons I’ve learned. It’s not always pretty, but I’ve definitely been able to grow up a lot these last few years.

Leave a Reply

