i should steal you away. in the middle of the night, come take your heart.

“Don’t be afraid to fall in love. It’s the only thing that matters in life. Fall in love with as many things as possible. Fall in love over & over & over because in the end that’s all that really matters.” 

This line from Country Strong is notably one of my most favorite lines ever- for obvious reasons, especially if you know me well.  However, in watching the movie on Sunday afternoon I found myself being more taken with another line, spoken by Beau (Garrett Hedlund) to Chiles (Leighton Meester):“Tell me what you want.”  Even though she wasn’t able to verbalize her desires, the movie script gave Chiles just what she wanted. 😉

But what about those of us who don’t have the luxury of living life under the direction of a screenplay?  What about the rest of us who do not have writers providing us with courageous words and romantic monologues to verbalize our desires?  And what about the ones that know what they want… however … aren’t quite sure that they’re capable of having it?

I’ve found myself walking away from situations like this before- ones that required me to go after what I wanted.  While other factors contributed from time-to-time, the main reason always remained the same: I didn’t believe I deserved to have what (who) I wanted.  Because of that, I never had the courage to say the words I dreamed about saying; nor was I strong enough to override the never-ending doubts with confidence.  Instead, I relied on dreams that it would just happen and the hope that someday I would change my ways. 

Well kids, even though I still find myself struggling a bit to make some dreams part of my reality, I must admit that this is the closest I’ve ever been to ‘someday’.  And let me tell you, the secret is Knowing that You Deserve to Be Happy.  Believe that You are Worthy of Loving & Being Loved.  Once you learn this, and you are the only one that I truly discover it for yourself, then you have the courage to tell another exactly what you want…and make it yours.

Song of the Moment: Steal You Away by Randy Rogers Band

One thought on “i should steal you away. in the middle of the night, come take your heart.

Leave a Reply

