“i’m sure i’ll find a way to ruin this somehow.”

Well kids, the sun has been shining here in Chicago, allowing us to flirt with the notion that winter may F.I.N.A.L.L.Y. be on its way out the door.  So after the sad goodbyes to Kristin & Cindy (Kristin’s mom) early this morning, I pulled myself together- as much as possible-  and headed downtown to the office.  As soon as I saw the green awning, I knew a pit stop at Starbucks was a must. (Note: Anytime you wake up before 5 am, Starbucks is a must- at least once – that day.) 

As I stood in line, I knew that my (hot) Soy AmeriMisto just wasn’t going to cut it today.  Yes, my friends, I found it necessary to put the hot drink order aside and ordered a (cold) Strawberry Frapp and it was Pure Perfection.  Is there anything better than Starbucks when you’re tired & emotionally drained?

I’ve been attempting to write a post on this topic for weeks now and cannot think of a better time to do so than today.  Sorry but you’re not getting all of the reasons out of me, but I will share that this new favorite song of mine, Just A Kiss by Lady Antebellum, may have something to do with it.  “And I don’t wanna mess this thing up”…let’s just go from here.

In the last two months, I’ve heard two A*MAY*ZING friends of mine, Sarah & Jenny, say, “…I’m sure I’ll find a way to ruin this somehow” in regards to the incredible guys (Tom and Phil, respectively) that have recently entered their lives.  Two girls who found wonderful guys worthy of them; and guys that had enough common sense to adore them immediately.  Two girls who, in my opinion, have nothing to worry about; however, I completely emphasize with them for the words they spoke. 

And now, I’m admitting that I am the third one in our group of friends who has recently spoken this line- at least out loud to myself if no one else.  However, unlike Jenny and Sarah, I’m pretty certain that The Jinx entered my life again and I found a way to ruin a potential something with someone pretty great.

As much as I hate to admit it, I’m pretty down about it right now.  And what happened is so minor (!) and quite possibly a misinterpretation.  However, when you care about someone, everything seems 1000x worse than it actually is.  Gotta love those darn feelings! 

After hearing my worries out, I find that I’m holding onto Jenny’s encouraging words- even if I don’t wholeheartedly believe them: I’m sure everything will work itself out – he has to realize how wonderful of a person you are and he’d be an idiot to let you slip through his fingers.”

The truth is…I’m the idiot if I let him slip through mine.

Leave a Reply

