when you throw your hands up in the air and say, ‘i don’t care anymore’ that’s when things happen.

Everyone has an opinion, and everyone- especially our own mother- feel the need to share their thoughts with you over and over again.  When you’re twenty-seven years old like me, you’ve heard the “If it was me…” and “Remember everything happens for a reason” speeches so many times that you’ve grown accustomed to tuning them out even before those ‘words of wisdom’ are spoken.

The truth is I’ve heard the “Everything happens for a reason” excuse line so many times before that I’ve reached the point where I’m in both agreeance and disagreeance.  See last year, my professor opened my eyes by twisting the words around on this theory.  He said, “We give reason to why everything happens.”  He’s right.  Once you adopt this perspective you are giving yourself the greatest gift of life: The Freedom to Live.  You are disconnecting yourself from the puppet strings and taking control of your life, freeing yourself from any doubts or insecurities that may have been holding you back before this life-changing revelation.  This is YOUR life, so Live It Up!

While sitting outside the dressing room at lululemon a few weeks ago (waiting for Sarah), my social self engaged in a conversation with one of the workers- who happened to be another Chicago-livin’ Ohio girl.  As is common for me these days, we found ourselves talking about how important it is to Let Yourself Live Out Your Seemingly Crazy Dreams.  She, herself, is taking a huge chance and moving to Thailand in a few months, explaining that she needs a change and therefore, decided to follow her passion.  In sharing her thoughts leading up to this decision, she said these words that I currently swear by, “When you throw your hands up in the air and say ‘I don’t care anymore’, that’s when things happen.”

For a few months now I’ve found myself constantly saying (both in my head and out loud), “I don’t care anymore.”  Now anyone that knows me know that I care way too much, mostly about other people- friends and family as well as though individuals that need a helping hand.  So when I say “I don’t care anymore” know that I’m not talking about that stuff.  Instead, what I mean is that I’ve finally gotten to the point in my life where I am going to do whatever I want to do.  Follow my heart.  Go after my dreams.  Take chances.  I, Kristen Medica, am just going to Live My Life- once and for all.  And because of this, I’m not going to let others tell me what’s right and what’s wrong; nor what’s attainable and what’s unattainable.  Sure I’ll listen to (some of) their opinions.  But like anything, one must remember that it always come down to what you want; what you need; and what you decide is best for you

These last few weeks have brought an interesting twist into the lives of some of my favorite girls, Libby and Sarah (who just happen to be second-cousins).  And if we’re being honest here, then I should say that I’ve experienced my own twist too.  Okay, yes, this ‘twist’ may indicate that a boy has entered and/or exited each of our lives but don’t get too excited here because I’m not diving into story time today.  Rather I’m going to tell you what I’ve discuss which both girls, as well as other friends.  Be your unique, beautiful self!  Let him see your crazy (which really isn’t even that crazy).  The best advice anyone can give you is Just Be Yourself.

Song of the Moment: Who Says by Selena Gomez & The Scene

2 thoughts on “when you throw your hands up in the air and say, ‘i don’t care anymore’ that’s when things happen.

  1. I’m not sure if words ever rang truer: “You are disconnecting yourself from the puppet strings and taking control of your life, freeing yourself from any doubts or insecurities that may have been holding you back before this life-changing revelation. This is YOUR life, so Live It Up!” Thank you for the inspiration, especially based on the conversation we had last week!

Leave a Reply

