to me, fearless is having fears. fearless is having doubts. lots of them. to me, fearless is living in spite of those things that scare you to death.

To me, FEARLESS is not the absence of fear. It’s not being completely unafraid. To me, FEARLESS is having fears. FEARLESS is having doubts. Lots of them. To me, FEARLESS is living in spite of those things that scare you to death. FEARLESS is falling madly in love again, even though you’ve been hurt before. FEARLESS is walking into your freshmen year of high school at fifteen. FEARLESS is getting back up and fighting for what you want over and over again… even though every time you’ve tried before, you’ve lost. It’s FEARLESS to have faith that someday things will change.  **************************************************************

After reading the fabulous blog post, The Girl in the Taxi, written by my Little Sis/ Pen Pal/ Friend, Alisha, yesterday morning I spend the day lost in thought.  Many thoughts.  Even somewhat-secret thoughts.  (Thanks again, Alisha & Kristin!) 

Anyways, with another full day of work and volunteering, I found myself walking from Navy Pier to Michigan Ave…because I lost my CTA pass AGAIN…and taking in the city.  Exhaustion and Stress accompanied me on that walk, as well as dozens of other pedestrians, but in essence I felt alone.  (Long story that you’re not going to hear.)  Although I eventually found comfort and company as I recalled Alisha’s post.  Soon I was reflecting back on the last 2.5 years in Chicago and consciously reminding myself how much has happened since then… including all of the fears and doubts that arose as I embarked on this journey shortly after my 25th birthday.  Goodbye Columbus, Hello Chicago?!

Back to Alisha’s post, The Girl in the Taxi, which is what inspired me today in the writing of my own.  Besides the fact that we are Soul * Sisters, I really do see a lot of myself in Alisha.  And if anything, this last post of hers confirmed that.  As Alisha and I began corresponding last year, I found myself reflecting back on my own college days quite frequently, and even effortlessly.  Those days were filled with doubts, fears, insecurities, anxiety, and tons of questions: What happens after graduation?  What am I going to do with my life?  Where am I going to go?  What do I want to be?  Who am I…really?  There are so many days where I wish I could Time Travel like Henry (in The Time Traveler’s Wife) and tell my younger self that, “It’s all going to be okay.” 

But since I cannot change the past for myself, I’ve realized that I could help guide the future for others (of that age and/or situations), like Alisha.  While there are so many stories and life lessons that I could share, only one all-encompassing message comes to mind: Believe in Yourself.  When an individual is graced with confidence, then Anything and Everything is Possible.  Live Life. Take Chance. Follow Your Heart. Make Your Dreams Come True.  Trust me, I know that Life is Scary and Change is even Scarier.  New Experiences bring about Doubts and Fears, some that you didn’t even know you were capable of feeling.  But you need to feel those feelings. 

 

Let Yourself Be Vulnerable. 

Let Yourself Get to Know Yourself.

Let Yourself Face Your Fears & Doubts.

Let Yourself Strive to Become Fearless.

Let Yourself Live.

Leave a Reply

