why i love being single on valentine’s day…really.

Listen, I’m a player. But I shut down my playerness from New Years to St.Patty’s Day just so I can avoid this day. ~Kelvin, Valentine’s Day

I guess it’s appropriate to start off by saying Happy Valentine’s Day to all the Luv-ers out there!  And a Very Happy Valentine’s Day to all the single ladies & gentlemen!  On that note, let’s get started with this post that I rightfully titled, Why I Love Being Single on Valentine’s Day…Really.  I swear there’s no sarcasm here.  Call me crazy, but I really do love it. 

For one, there are absolutely NO expectations for this Hall-(mark)-day.  Gosh, I remember those carnations in middle school and how horrible it was waiting…and waiting to see if you got one.  Not getting one was hard enough on a hormonal teenage here, but it was worse watching all the other girls with theirs.  However, the best/worst was getting those unexpected carnations, especially the pink (crush) or red (love) ones from a (possibly) secret admirer.  Who am I kidding?  It was Hampton and therefore, the gossip mills were always aflutter with who-likes-who.  Yes, I was one of those lucky(?) girls who found herself- a time or two- dealing with the awkwardness from the post-carnation delivery. 

Reason Two: You’re not limited to only one valentine today.  🙂  Unless you’re in love with someone, I think it’s best to be single on three days of the year: Valentine’s Day, Halloween (at least in Ohio), and New Year’s Eve.  Think about it for a second.  You are literally a fish in a huge ocean of other (mostly single) school of fish.  Do you know how many chances you have to meet someone wonderful?  How many chances you have at finding the love you’re wishing you had?  Doesn’t that change the way you look at February 14th?

With all due respect, today is just another day.  Before any haters comment, let me stress that I say this as a completely single.  Very single.  Maybe a little too single.  Would I like to be in love?  Of course…with the right person.  But you know what, I’d rather be single today- surrounded by all the mushiness and PDAs- than be with someone just to be with someone on Valentine’s Day.  I’d also rather have ridiculous love the other 364 days with an A*MAY*ZING guy if it meant I had to be single on February 14th.

Another reason, and probably the last one I’ll write about here, is that being single on Valentine’s Day gives me more time (and money) to celebrate with my girlfriends!  After witnessing years of gloomy single girls on Valentine’s Day, I decided to step up my friend-game on February 14th during my junior year of high school.  Coincidentally, almost all of my best girl friends were single and therefore I figured it was the perfect time spoil them rotten.  So I decorated their lockers with balloons and hand-made cards, and organized a girls’ night out downtown.  I like to think it made their boyfriendless Valentine’s Day a little brighter.  So I did it again and again, every Valentine’s Day since I was seventeen years old I’ve taken it upon myself- in some way- to express my L.O.V.E. for my ladies, and now some of my best guy friends as well.  In fact, this year Michaella helped me make valentines.  

(Note: If you haven’t gotten yours yet, it may not have been made- yet.  We’ll get to it, or at least make you a post-V Day love card.)

Anyways, Valentine’s Day was apparently created to celebrate L.O.V.E. and this girl has A LOT of L.O.V.E. to thankful for.  I may be single, but I definitely have TONS of L.O.V.E. in my life.  All I can say is that I am a very lucky girl.

To some people, love doesn’t exist unless you acknowledge it in front of other people. (Alfonso, Valentine’s Day)

I love that line so much.  For some reason it makes me think of the 1 Corinthians 13:4- Love is patient and kind; love is not jealous or boastful.  Love is not showy.  It’s neither about status nor material goods.  Love is not something you have just to have ‘it’.  Now if I have it completely wrong and that’s what actually what love is all about, well, then I’m not sure I want it. 

Instead, I want an everyday love.  I’d prefer a love filled with the simple, little things over the flash and prestige any day.  A love with no expectations.  A love that is truly about the two people in love and nothing else.  “You and me, just us two.”  That’s the kind of love I believe in, and the reason that I’m content with being single every Valentine’s Day until I have it.  The truth of the matter is, I want someone who likes me.  The real me.  The groggy, coffee-craving me in the morning.  The it’s-been-a-long-week so I want to stay in tonight on a Friday evening me.  That’s what I want and I’ll spend many Single Lady Valentine’s Days as I have to until I find that someone. 

2 thoughts on “why i love being single on valentine’s day…really.

  1. Geezus! Like I said before, it’s like we’re on the same mind track. I was thinking to myself today: Today is just another day.

Leave a Reply

