secret to life: let your friends be there for you (too).

It’s no secret on this blog…last week was not my week.  Five full days of being an emotional wreck- yep, that was me.  But I’m happy to report that those have come & gone (at least for now). 

I won’t lie, I woke up on Saturday still feeling blah, even nearly canceling on a friend’s surprise party for later in the evening.  Though after a great 4-hour play date with Michaella, I walked outside and let the cold Chicago air refresh me, as I made the decision to say f’ it and through my blues out the windows.  Actually this thought went through my mind: I need to let my friends be there for me.  I also felt guilty not supporting the birthday boy and his wife who orchestrated the party, knowing that I had to be there for my friends too.  Instead of indulging you with Saturday night’s details, I’ll simply say that I’m really glad I went.  Not only were my friends amazing, but everyone was so great too.  Truly a wonderful group of people, which I believe says a lot for the fabulousness that is Bayard & Michelle.

I’m going to keep this short since I’m hopeful to be expecting a call from my darling Darlene tonight, but I want to address the lesson I learned which is surely a long time coming.  Let your friends be there for you.  It sounds so simple, yet it’s taken me 27 years to listen to this sage advice.  Better late than never, eh?  I’ve been very open about how fortunate I feel to have the friends that I do; and I’ve also mentioned the lack of trustworthy ‘friends’ in my past.  But let’s ignore the latter for now, shall we? 

Now those that know me know that I’d do anything for my friends; typically putting themselves ahead of me.  Okay, I always do it.  Anyways, last week was included a twist as I allowed myself to be very open with a few people about my emotional messiness, which allotted them a chance to be there for me.  I willingly let them be there for me.  This was definitely one of my Wow, have I grown moments and this realization has certainly helped me in more ways than I’m probably consciously aware of right now. 

Thank you to each and every one of you for your listening ears and encouraging words.  I love you all!

4 thoughts on “secret to life: let your friends be there for you (too).

  1. I love this. And I’m really trying to work on letting my friends be there for me as I spend these last three weeks in the States filled with unbearable emotions. But considering I hate emotions, and I hate feeling vulnerable and weak, it’s been kind of tough. Definitely something I’m working on!

    XO

  2. Trust me, I know it’s hard. It’s a step-by-step process for people who are usually on the other end, but the best friendships are those that give AND take. It’s not selfish, it’s called friendship. Whatever you need, you know you have me!

    Keep working on it because I promise you’ll look back and be so glad you made this change.

  3. This design is wicked! You certainly know how to keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  4. Thanks so much, Tessa! It’s funny how my life adventures and over-thinking mind can amuse readers like you. (lol). Honesty, starting this blog was a life-changing experience in teaching me so much about myself that I used to be afraid to know. My advice is to start one yourself if you have any interest in it. Thanks again!!

Leave a Reply

