do one thing every day that scares you.

Eleanor Roosevelt said, Do one thing every day that scares you; and I’ve also heard another line that goes, Do one thing every day that makes you happy.  A friend of mine, visiting town last year, found it odd that I had both sayings hanging up in my apartment.  “Aren’t those contradicting statements?” she asked.  I started to explain why I disagreed with her, but suddenly stopped.  I just knew she wouldn’t understand.  She hasn’t yet learned that overcoming fears is what leads you to happiness- happiness within.

I decided that today was the day that I needed to do one thing that scares me.  Today was the day that I needed to overcome one of my (little) fears.  Today I knew that I deserve to be happy and therefore, I let myself take one step closer to personal happiness.  Today I didn’t hold myself back from doing something that I’ve always told myself (You) can do; Today I did it. 

As minor as it may seem to others, it was a big deal to me.  Today I took me, myself, and I- no one else- to the movies.  It was the first time I went to the movies by myself.  Now I’ve set out to do this since I graduated college and was living in my parents house; however, my eat-sleep-work lifestyle never allotted me the time.  And to be honest, I wasn’t as dedicated to undergoing this challenge then as I was today.  Walking past the movie theater down the street nearly every day for the last 2-plus years prepared me well and today I knew it was time to face my this fear.  This silly little fear.

I’ll admit that I was a little antsy sitting through the previews, but immediately calmed down as the first scene of Blue Valentine began.  I guess if you’re going to see a movie by yourself- first time or not- it’s best to have Ryan Gosling in it.  Besides myself, he proved to be the perfect date.  He may have not exactly been playing Noah Calhoun in this movie, but it’s all the same to me.

Leave a Reply

