if you really need me- ever- i am there. xoxo.

My Couch & Me: The perfect way to end a Moan-day.  Along with my new favorite OU tee-shirt, leggings, pigtail braids, and a blanket wrapped around me and my cold-inflicted body.  (Blah.)  And even better, I got to enjoy a new episode of my guilty pleasure, Gossip Girl, and in particular, one particular story line between Blair, Serena & Dan that included this communication exchange: 

Serena: I would say I’m sorry about today, but in my head that just sounds inadequate.
Dan: Ah, you don’t need to apologize. It’s not your fault that I seem to drop everything just to make myself available to you.
Serena: I don’t mean to take you for granted. It’s just, if we’re being completely honest…
Dan: We are.
Serena: I think that maybe sometimes I test you. You know, I keep thinking that if things get too hard you’ll give up on me. But you never do.
Dan: And I never will. If you really need me—ever—I am there.

Earlier in the episode, Blair captured my attention when she disciplined Serena with these words (an innuendo to Dan): “… Some of them stay good. No matter how they’re treated.”

Yesterday I finally addressed the elephant in the (blog) room and declared, Yes I have trust issues, though I failed to state that I also have fantastic people in my life (right now)- whom make it impossible for me not to trust them.  However, that wasn’t always the case.  Looking back on my adolescent days, most of my ‘friendships’ were burdensome as I felt indebted (as their friend) to free their Mean Girl world of all its ‘problems’.  I mistakenly thought that this was how friendship worked…but friendship isn’t a one-way street.  Friends don’t give you ultimatums or make excuses if you ever (dare to) ask them for a returned favor.   

The same goes for relationships.  One of the most disheartening things for me is to witness someone taking advantage of their significant other.  I especially hate when I see girls walking all over their loyal boyfriends and cannot help but want to go right up to the guy and ask, “Seriously?!!  What could you possibly see in her?”  and then set him up with one of my amazing single ladies.

Back to Mr. Dan Humphrey and his loyalty… why do people take advantage of the nice guy?  What is it that makes this eligible bachelor come across as a doormat?  Okay, Serena claims that she ‘tests him’, and I actually do believe that it happens in non-TV show life too, but why do we make things more complicated?  We say we all want a good guy, but when we find one why do we tend to take advantage of his rare kind instead of showing our appreciation?  And maybe more importantly, why do these rare finds think that these ungrateful girls are deserving of them?

Walking home last night, with yesterday’s post in the foreground, my mind started to wander around.  Shocking, right?  Why do we overcomplicate things in the World of Boys & Girls?  Why do we question everything and overanaylze anything we can pick apart?  Why can’t it be as simple as Michella’s theory: Two good, ‘soft’ people will just be together?  Why do we long for the good guy, but when he arrives we try so hard to find something wrong with him so he’s not The One?  Why does it scare us to know that if you really need him- ever- he’ll always be there

Leave a Reply

