to sleep, perchance to dream.

2:37 am: The time my clock read when I unfortunately woke last night from a dream I wish I was still dreaming.  Actually it was a dream that I wish wasn’t just a dream but instead my reality.  Rolling back over I thought about falling back asleep right away hoping to continue the dream, but even my half-awake mind knew very well that I’d be more likely to have a nightmare than find myself back in Tuesday Night’s Dream: Act 2.  So instead I laid awake in my bed and daydreamed about my dream.  It felt so real. So nice.  It was such a simple dream; simple enough to be real. 

Selena and I escaped the office today to feed her 8-months pregnancy cravings with Noodles & Company.  In the car she told me about two dreams of hers from the past week.  Both of her dreams were simple and quite realistic.  In fact both dreams came true, foreshadowing moments in her awakened life.  I asked her if she woke up shortly after the message was announced (in her dream).  “Yes… a little bit after,” she replied.

And that’s what happened to me last night.  Shortly after the hopefully foreshadowing message was received in my subconscious mind, I woke up and stayed awake until 3:17 just think about the dream.  It really was a simple dream.  Though very heartfelt.  It meant something to me, and that’s why I’m not going to share the details of it.  So here’s to hoping that in some way, shape or form that dream becomes my reality. 

The best way to make your dreams come true is to wake up. ~ Paul Valery

2 thoughts on “to sleep, perchance to dream.

Leave a Reply

