no day but today (well yesterday)

Most of the time I have all these thoughts bouncin’ around in my head, but with a brush in my hand the world gets kinda quiet.  ~ Allie Hamilton, “The Notebook

(Note: This was written, hand-written, on Sunday night although not posted til Monday morning.)

For the first time in 1…2…3…possibly 4 weeks I am spending the night sleeping in my own bed.  The bed in my bedroom; in my apartment; in my city…well in Chicago.  Yes, I’m back in Chicago.  Back to RealityUnfortunately.  But thankfully I get to spend the night in my own bed.  A bed without bed bugs (knock on wood).  Wow, bed bugs.  What a whirlwind these past few weeks have been.  What a whirlwind this year has been!

Now it would probably take me a full year to recall all of the places that I’ve been and the beds, air mattresses, and (Mega) buses that I’ve slept on, but there’s far more important things that I’d prefer to be doing my time.  For instance, I’d rather spend the time visiting more people & places.  2011: Another year of guest bedrooms, air mattresses, and Megabusin’ around. 

But tonight, this girl will be tucked in under the covers of her newly painted bedroom.  Yes, you’ve read that right and yes, I did just get back to town today.  I haven’t stopped in days…weeks…actually, all year, so why stop now?  (I know I’m a little crazy.  Just smile and nod.  And laugh at my ‘crazy’ if you must. Sometimes I do.)

After heartfelt (and somewhat difficult) goodbyes with my brother (at home) and my parents (at the airport) and a 90-minute nap on the plane, I arrived back in Chicago after the much-need and appreciated hiatus. 

((Re-)Enter Reality- aka Chaos- in the form of Chicago accents & tired travelers’ dismay, bursting my blissful winter break mentality.)

To save my sanity for a little longer, I avoided the typically dismal train ride back home, opting for the company of a cab driver over the complaints of loud cell phone chatters.  After an hour of unpacking and straightening up, I put my jacket and gloves back on for a walk to the (fortunately) near by Home Depot.

Why?  For paint, silly.  Benjamin Moore’s Electric Blue paint, specifically. 

Again, why?  With the whole bed bugs fiasco behind me and the new year ahead of me, I just thought that it was time for a change.

My inspiration? None other than Ms Carrie Bradshaw and her renovated bedroom in the Sex and the City movie.

I knew that my first day back in Chi-Town was going to be rough, with my mind filled with visions of everything but sugar plums- especially moments with friends & family and feelings of homesickness.  And I also worried that I’d find myself running around the city trying to play (unnecessary) catch-up if I didn’t commit to such a project.  So keeping myself busy was definitely an incentive behind Room Renovation: Day 1.  I have to say 1) it worked; and 2) I love the new color!  Now I just have to do my best to make the room (and rest of the apartment) somewhat presentable for Jen & Matt’s arrival next weekend.  (Oy vey!)

So yeah, there you have it.  I’m back in Chicago after a jammed-packed, refreshing holiday break.  I miss my friends & family, but find myself fortunate to have so many wonderful people in my life that I have the opportunity to miss.  And I apparently survived another New Year’s Eve (this year in Cleveland) which I plan on indulging details about in upcoming posts.  Teaser: My lips definitely remained sealed that night, but I cannot say the same for some of my friends.  Still trying to wrap my head around that hook-up…and I’m not the only one.  Wow.

So as I conclude my first post from Chicago in 2011, I’ll share that I don’t have a New Year’s Resolution.  And while I have goals and aspirations for this year and my future, I honestly have no idea where this year will take me, even if I did have my tarot cards read on NYE.  (More details another day, another blog.)  And while 2010 has left me with high hopes for 2011 and got the ball rollin’, I know that it’s to me to continue to Make It Happen in 2011.  Afterall you can roll the dice and see what comes up, but you still have to make your move. 

I may have painted the day away (yesterday), but it’s now a different day and time to get started.  First Step: Those Internship & Grad Program Applications.

 

Song of the Moment: A Little Bit Stronger by Sara Evans

Leave a Reply

