two years ago.

The stuff that we go through in life- the negative and the knocks- we can choose to take us down, or we can choose to stand up or rise up and make us even more brilliant and beautiful.
~ Mia Michaels ~

Two years ago, I spent my Thanksgiving day enduring a 9-hour car ride from Pittsburgh to Chicago.  Two years ago, I ate Thanksgiving dinner at an Italian restaurant and slept in a hotel in Skokie, IL.  Two years ago, I woke up early on Black Friday to unload all of my big girl purchases into an empty apartment: My new home.  Two years ago I was full of doubt, fear, and anxiety.  Two years ago I was not the same person that I am today, but I am who I am because of these past two years.

In a post a few months ago, I claimed that I was going to list 5 things that I’m thankful for on a more regular basis…but yeah, today is only the second (maybe third) time I’m doing so.  But it’s not only appropriate to do in these last few hours of Thanksgiving, but it’s necessary.  So here I go:

1. I am thankful to have had the courage to take a huge leap of faith in moving to Chicago two years ago.

2. I am thankful for each and every person- friends, family members, mentors, co-workers, etc.- who has (sometimes literally) held my hand and comforted me with their words (and hugs) from day 1 of this outside-my-comfort-zone journey that I embarked on two years ago.

3. I am thankful for each and every challenge that I’ve been presented, and the will-power to overcome them all.

4. I am thankful for all of the new opportunities that have been presented to me as I follow my passions and ambitions.

5. I am thankful that I’ve finally learned to accept myself for who I am- flaws and all.

Leave a Reply

