unsent love letter mix tape: track 9

The post I wrote on Sunday, October 10th will explain the ideas behind the Unsent Love Letter Mix Tape series, and if it still doesn’t make sense to you, well then, at least it makes sense to me.  The writer.  The blogger.  The girl behind the computer.  Call me what you will but these are my letters.  Love Letters.  Some will be traditional love letters and some will be love letters of another sort.  These are my love letters to those that I love…or once loved…or will one day love.  Let me point out that my plan is not to send these letters, but to write them as though I was sending them. 

Track 9 is written to Allie Hamilton of The Notebook.  You know what, I won’t bother explaning why.  Instead I’ll just let the letter speak for itself.

 

 

Dear Allie,

I’ve wanted to write to you for awhile now, and in a way I’m glad I never did because today is definitely the right day for me to finally do so.  I won’t explain why exactly, and I know you won’t press me to do so.  It is for that simple reason that I know I’m writing to the right person.

Often I think about your story with Noah, hearing you ask him, “It was real, wasn’t it? You and me. Such a long time ago, we were just a couple of kids. But we really loved each other, didn’t we? “

I saw what Noah went through during the 7 years that you were apart- not knowing what the future held for you.  So let me ask, plain and simple, What was it like for you?  How did you get through the heartbroken time in your life?  How did you get through each and every day of those 7 years?  Did you just learn to live that way- with a broken heart? 

Having not heard from Noah during those 7 years nor knowing that he was still pining for you, how did you handle it?  Did it hurt when you thought of him?  Did you tell yourself that he’s probably happy with someone else, and therefore you should move on with your life?  Did you think that you could even move on with someone else? 

How did you finally let yourself move on with Lon?  Were you ever able to finally let go?  When you were with Lon, before Noah came back into your life, did you still think of Noah?  And when Lon proposed to you, was Noah at all on your mind?  Did you wish that you were marrying Noah instead?

So this letter turned into me asking you a ton of questions.  Sorry about that.  Maybe we could get coffee some time and talk about this.  And I can tell you where all of my questions are coming from.  In essence, we have a lot more in common than you realize and I’d love to get your insight on, well, everything.

Thanks so much, Allie.  I hope to see you soon.

Sending you and Noah my love.

Kristen

Song of the Moment: You and Me- Lifehouse 

Leave a Reply

