unsent love letter mix tape: track 3

The post I wrote on Sunday, October 10th will explain the ideas behind the Unsent Love Letter Mix Tape series, and if it still doesn’t make sense to you, well then, at least it makes sense to me.  The writer.  The blogger.  The girl behind the computer.  Call me what you will but these are my letters.  Love Letters.  Some will be traditional love letters and some will be love letters of another sort.  These are my love letters to those that I love…or once loved…or will one day love.  Let me point out that my plan is not to send these letters, but to write them as though I was sending them. 

Track 3 is written to the mother on the train yesterday.  I do not judge this mother for ignoring her two young boys, for I do not know her nor her situation.  Instead I hope this letter reaches her and allows her to open her heart and see the love that’s (literally) right in front of her.

 

 

Dear Mother on the Train,

You don’t know me, nor do I know you.  Quite  frankly, neither one of us would recognize the other if we passed on the street, especially since I never saw your face.  All I saw was the back of you, pushing the stroller, as you stepped off the train at the Belmont stop. 

I never saw your face because I made myself not look at you.  I couldn’t look because I didn’t want your face to stick in my mind.  I didn’t want the chance to think about you later on and judge you.  It upset me just sitting there, watching your kids try to get your attention and you ignore them.  It broke my heart, but I do not judge you.  How can I?  Again, I don’t know you nor your situation.  Maybe you were having a bad day?  Maybe you just had a loss in your family?  Maybe you haven’t slept in 24-plus hours and you were down-right exhausted. 

I do not judge you. How can I?  I am not a mother with two young boys.  I cannot judge you.  Instead I send you love with the honest hope that you will pass along that love to your children- both whom love you.  

I want to share some last thoughts with you based on my experiences, directly speaking of ones that occurred last night after riding the train with you and your sons.  Let me say that I hope your boys are very healthy and you never have to be in such situations as I mention to you.

As a volunteer with a wish-granting organization and children’s hospital, I am honored to work with many children and families.  Unfortunately the individuals that I work with are/have been touched with illness and/or disease, some incurable.  I am telling you this with hope that it impacts you as much as it does me.  I hope it inspires you to love, to be loved, and to value the time you have with your loved ones. Afterall it’s those small, precious moments in life that often mean the most, and the ones we miss the most when they’re no longer possible.

That’s one thing that working with these children and families has taught me: Appreciate the little things.  Each and every one of them.  So often we get caught up in the hustle-and-bustle that life, indeed, brings upon us.  The truth is that in those moments we tend to turn against those that we love the most instead of turning to them for support.  Let your loved ones put the smile back on your face. 

While I will never wish ill will on you nor yours, but I do hope that you were just having a bad day yesterday.  I hope that you were tired and tuning things out on the train as your way to relax.  I hope that when I see your boys next time, I’ll be able to see them smiling and laughing with their mother.

Sincerely yours,

Kristen

 Song of the Moment: Daughters by John Mayer

One thought on “unsent love letter mix tape: track 3

  1. I see many moms like this on the trains in New York City, and then I see many moms like this in stores and out in parks. You are right, it’s difficult for us to judge, because we are not parents ourselves. The other day when I was shopping at the Gap and my mom and I were checking out–there were two little kids behind us in a dual stroller yelling, screeching at eachother as the little girl pulled the little boys hair. The mom didn’t react at all. It was as if she had ear plugs in–but she didn’t. Sometimes I think they just get so immune to what is going on that it really doesn’t affect them. Even though it affects all of us around who are watching it happen. I liked what you added to this post about your own experiences seeing who you see each day. It is important to remember that even the smallest moments like ones on a subway train can make people really think different of us, or can make our loved ones feel like they mean nothing. Our worlds are complicated and yet if we just show more love here and there, I think everything will appear a bit more simple.

Leave a Reply

