one day you realize that the fairy tale may be slightly different than you dreamed.

You know how when you were a little kid and you believed in fairy tales, that fantasy of what your life would be, white dress, prince charming who would carry you away to a castle on a hill. You would lie in bed at night and close your eyes and you had complete and utter faith. Santa Claus, the Tooth Fairy, Prince Charming, they were so close you could taste them, but eventually you grow up, one day you open your eyes and the fairy tale disappears. Most people turn to the things and people they can trust. But the thing is its hard to let go of that fairy tale entirely cause almost everyone has that smallest bit of hope, of faith, that one day they will open their eyes and it will come true. (Meredith Grey)

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

As little girls we grow up with the stories of princesses, Prince Charming, kissing magical frogs, sparkling gowns, glass slippers…anything and everything our imaginations create.  Anything is possible.  We hope, we dream, we believe that our wishes will come true. 

As we get older we are introduced to romantic comedies and the concepts of fate, destiny, serendipity, soulmates and the ever-so-popular theme of boy-meets-girl-boy-loses-girl-boy-gets-girl-backWe find ourselves dreaming of the hot new guy in class serenading us with a song at the pep rally and being crowned Prom Queen next to our longtime crush before living happily ever after in the world beyond high school. (Cue Taylor Swift song.)

Then we really get old(er) and entered into our hopeful maybe phase of life: Maybe I’ll meet a Dr. McDreamy when visiting my friend’s new baby at the hospital?  Or maybe a Nate Archibald will pick me up at the bar tonight and kiss me good night at my front door?  And maybe, just maybe, a long-lost love Ross Gellar-type, will chase me down at the airport and ask me not to leave?  But my maybe dream is the inevitable meeting a guy at a coffee shop….and if he looks like McDreamy or Nate, then so be it! 

So where am I going with all of this?  Well, ladies (and gentlemen), this week- with the guidance, love, and support of my beautiful fairy godmothers, Darlene & Adriana (love you both!)- I realized that it’s time for me to give up the fairy tale that I’ve been believing in.  Because that’s exactly what it is/was: A fairy tale.  A beautiful fairy tale.  And like all good princesses, I believed with all my heart in that prince.  That if I remained loyal and patient, that he’d overcome all of the obstacles, fight all the dragons, and rescue me to embark on our happily ever after.   

To put it nicely, that didn’t happen and I’m finally able to admit to myself that it never will.  The truth is, as Gossip Girl said, “We make our own fairy tales.”  As much as I want to play princess again and abandon the stresses on my non-royalty life, I know that’s not possible.  Plus, living life day-to-day is the better than the predictable fairy tale plot anyways.  And remember that line: You have to kiss a lot of frogs before your find your prince?  Well frankly this girl hasn’t kissed enough frogs yet.  Watch out, boys! Muah!

Song of the Moment: White Horse by Taylor Swift

3 thoughts on “one day you realize that the fairy tale may be slightly different than you dreamed.

  1. Um, next time I’m in Chicago, I’m demanding that we get together for coffee and talk because you’re writing BLOWS ME AWAY every single time. You’re so open and honest with yourself and that’s a quality I really admire about you. Don’t ever stop doing that.

    xoxo

  2. I thought I had a fairy tale love but apparently after 17 yrs it’s over. I guess. I wasn’t worthy of unconditional love.

Leave a Reply

