don’t let your dreams be dreams

God bless my dear friend, Stef.  I say this for many reasons but today I write expressing my gratitude for her with regards to the fact that she put up with my stuffed-up, barking cough, low-energy self last night for an evening date at Starbucks.  Now there are very few things that I’m up to doing after work, let alone when I feel sick, but hanging out with her is one I always welcome and look forward to.  It is because of my date with her last night that I feel the inspiration to write this afternoon.
(Note: I am writing this on Friday afternoon around 3:30 pm ET, although I’m not sure when it will be posted onto my blog.  And yes, I said Eastern Time.  Why?  Because I am traveling, yet again, and this time I’m headed back home to Ohio.  Dear Cincinnati, I’ll see you soon!)

Like always, last night was an evening well spent with our conversations addressing everything from my family vacation to the cities we’d rather be living in- instead of Chicago.  Each and every time I talk to Stef, I find that she steals the thought from my head, expressing her own perspectives and concerns about present-day life as a twentysomething single female in the big world (and big city).   The good, the bad, and the ugly-that’s how I’m going to describe it.  The stumbles and falls that we continually find ourselves dealing with every moment of each day. 

Isn’t life lovely?  Actually, it is.  It really is?  We live and we learn.

 

Last night Stef passionately exclaimed, during our conversation, “I’m a dreamer.”  Me too, lady.  Me too.  Funny thing, I used to think that I was the only one and now I read many of my favorite bloggers/ soul searchers describing themselves as.  I guess we’re one of a kind now, aren’t we?  A very special breed of Generation Y that wants more out of life that just 1+1= 2.  We want infinity.  We want to feel infinite, feel alive.

 

Well here’s the simple secret to getting what you want.  Now this dreamer (me) will admit that it’s easier said than done, but this dreamer has also learned from numerous experiences- and disappointments- that’s the only way to live.  Are you ready for the big reveal?  Drum roll please…….Put your dreams to action.  Don’t let your dreams be (just) dreams.  Do something to make your dreams your reality.

 

Last night Stef and I found ourselves visiting numerous cities across the country- and in Italy too if my memory serves me correctly- thinking of where our next ‘home’ could be.  Were we crazy for doing this?  Could we have found something more productive to do with our time?  In my opinion, unless you consciously think about your dreams and discuss them with a someone who cares, then 1) how do you know what you really want; and 2) how else do you g after your dreams and turn them into more, much more.

I had a dream last night, one that I’ve been thinking about on this bus trip today.  I choose to keep this dream to myself because it is quite personal for me, but I’ll share that this dream is something that I’d like to make a reality.  Is it possible?  I think so.  I hope so.  And maybe one day, I’ll look back and remember what I once dreamed about is now my reality. 

 

I don’t know if my final words are inspirational or not, but let me give it a go.  If you’re someone who is reading this now and thinking about your dream, do me a favor and make it happen.  What is holding you back?  Probably yourself, which is usually the case for most of us.  All I can say is that if you want something bad enough to constantly put time and effort into it, then there’s a reason for that.  We waste so much time wondering “what if” and living with regret.  So don’t wonder anymore.  Don’t just dream away your days.  Live by putting your dreams into action.  Be happy.  Do something that makes you happy. 

One thought on “don’t let your dreams be dreams

  1. “You may say that I’m a dreamer. But I’m not the only one. Some day I hope you’ll join us. And the world will live as one.”

Leave a Reply

