sometimes i just need to know that i’m on the right path

After a long day that began with a very early morning (3:30 am wake-up call) and a drive back-and-forth to Indianapolis for work at a colleague’s house, and influence from Eat. Pray. Love. (I’m sure),  I found myself walking home through the streets of Lincoln Park making small talk with God.  It officially began as I walked back the children’s hospital and thought about my Wish Kid, Ethan, and his family.  I began by praying for them and then found myself thinking about the Child Life position and my possible future career.  Before I knew it I mind was wondering- which is not unlikely for me especially in my tired state.  With about 3-5 minutes remaining in my walk, I asked God for a sign.  I asked him to tell me (show me) that some thing was still worth my time & energy in fighting for, believing in.

Now I’ve asked God for signs before and some times gotten signs that I didn’t ask for.  (Oh the stories I could tell.)  Because of this I know that when you ask (or don’t ask) for a sign, you know when that sign is given/seen because you can feel God’s presence. 

As I neared my apartment there were things that could be construed as signs- ie. a loud car motor racing past, raindrops that came out of nowhere.  But in both instances I didn’t feel ‘it’ and therefore entered my apartment wondering if God didn’t give me a sign because there was no sign to give.  Maybe He was telling me saying that my belief was wrong and it was time to throw in the towel?

Now I’ve known God for almost twenty-seven years now but in my exhausted state of mind I forgot that He is always listening but He doesn’t always respond right away.  He is wise and knows that sometimes it’s better to wait and respond (or give a sign) when the moment will be more impactful. 

Like last night.  Last night I had a dream in which God presented the sign that I asked for.  It was clear as day and knowing that I woke up startled with pure understanding of the message upon me, I think it’s safe to say that it was indeed an impactful moment.  It was actually the perfect sign as it was exactly what I needed to know that I was on the right path and to keep believing.  It was by far more than a dream as it stayed with me all day and even almost 24 hours later. 

What occurred last night was far from a miracle…but I didn’t need a miracle.  I just need reassurance that I was on the right path; that I was believing in some thing that was worth believing in.  In a very small way, God proved to me (once again) that He is always listening and will answer us when we need an answer.  Last night I needed guidance and He gave me just that. 

There is a reason they call God a presence – because God is right here, right now.  In the present is the only place to find Him, and now is the only time.  (Eat. Pray. Love.) 

Leave a Reply

