the post-college world

We’re adults.  When did this happen?  And how do we make it stop?  (Grey’s Anatomy)

Some graduate college and know exactly what’s next: Internship. Grad School. Law School. Med School. Family Business. First Big Girl/Big Boy Job. New Apartment. Engagement. Marriage. (Gasp.) Kids. (Gasp again.)

Others graduate college and have absolutely no idea what tomorrow holds beyond the fact that they’re destined to wake up in their childhood bedroom around 1 pm (or later) because there was no need to set an alarm clock.  Why bother?  There’s nowhere to be.  You wear those dirty, smelly sweatpants all day, every day simply because you can.  You watch hours upon hours of the junk on TV and play around on Facebook, looking at friends’ albums from the good old days that occurred only a few weeks ago.

The ambitious young professional (kinda sorta) that I am now once found herself in the latter category of recent college graduates.  Feel free to judge me because honestly I’m a tad disappointed that I fell into that category four years ago.  But what did I know?  There’s no Paint-by-Number guide as to know you’re supposed to live the day after you leave your beloved college campus.  You fight to convince yourself that you just had the best four years of your life in a land far, far away, as you stare into the eyes of a familiar-looking, insecure seventeen-year old.  You want to smile and tell her that everything is going to be okay, but you don’t because you’re not sure yourself if it will be.

I am so glad those days are over.  As I’ve indulged you before, the summer after my college graduation was far from the best time of my life.  I wanted to cry, but couldn’t cry.  I wanted to scream, but couldn’t scream.  I wanted to run away, but there was nowhere to run to nor could I afford to go anywhere.  I spent about 3 months hoping for a miracle…not realizing that I had to do my part for that ‘miracle’ to occur.

“Give thanks for what you are now, and keep fighting for what you want to be tomorrow.”             Fernanda Miramontes-Landeros

I came across this quote a little bit ago and it certainly resonated with me as I continued to write this post.  Yesterday my dear friend, Adriana, told me that she used to write down 5 things every day that she was thankful for.  So in an effort to focus more on the wonderful beauty in this world and in my life, I’m going to try to do that every day in my posts.  Here I go…

1. First and foremost, I am thankful for my family and friends and their constant love, support, and guidance.  For helping me get through the bad days and by my side to enjoy the good times.

2. I am thankful for having the inner strength to take chances; to make mistakes; and to have the courage to learn from each and every experience.

3. I am thankful for the opportunity to reconnect with former friends and people from the past, as they remind me where I came from and how far I’ve come since then.

4. I am thankful for kids.  Thankful that they can let me escape from the stresses of daily adult life and see the world’s purity and innocence again through their eyes.

5. And I am thankful my unforgettable college days.  For OU and the pride that I carry for my alma mater.  For Athens, the place I’ll always call home.  For the friends that I made, that will always be family to me.

4 thoughts on “the post-college world

  1. this is so true. i didn’t have that feeling right after college, but it hit me pretty hard the first year after when i was out of work for a couple of stretches at a time. i’ve always been one of those weird type-A kids who wasn’t happy without goals and plans. it’s only gotten worse as i get older. but i’ve also learned to embrace down time and solitude with more grace. and counting my luck has helped me, too.

  2. I think it was the first time my life that I didn’t even bother hiding behind my sadness. I was a wreck, and looking back all I can think is- that was not ‘me’.

    It’s all about balance. I’m with you, struggling when I don’t know what’s next and what’s after that. Plans and goals provide us with motivation to keep going, and without them we feel lost. My friend Jen said to me one time, “Sometimes you have to get lost to find your way.” She’s right. Now I embrace feeling a little bit lost because it makes me stop and think about what I really want to do.

    And luck… I definitely rely on luck. And a glass of wine every now and then. Lol.

  3. I am deep in this exact sh*t right now. I love that quote “Give thanks for what you are now, and keep fighting for what you want to be tomorrow.” It is probably the most punk rock thing I have read in my adult life. I know I’m beginning to see the light. Thanks 🙂

    1. It’s a great quote. Thanks for reminding me of it! I tend to forget to have that outlook when you get caught up in this “sh*t”- as you put it. It’s a process; a journey; a day-by-day…or even moment-by-moment adventure. Just remember this quote and others like it to get you back on track when you find yourself lost & frustrated. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

