we were both young when i first saw you. i close my eyes and the flashback starts…

July 18, 2003.  I’ll never forget the significance of that date, even if no one else knows of its relevance.  That was seven years ago.  Seven years.  I was a very inexperienced nineteen year old at the time, on the verge on a life-changing adventure as I attended my orientation day at OU.  I was anxious in anticipation of the fantastic college experience that I’d heard so much about.  My mom and I woke up early to drive from Hampton (Pittsburgh, PA) to Athens for a day of transfer student & parent general session meetings and scheduling.  I don’t remember much about the drive, but recall changing my shirt in the parking lot before heading to the first session.  Why did I trade in the peasant shirt for a tank top with a soccer ball & number 8 graphic on it?  To feel more like me.  The morning’s details are a little blurry, but I do remember thinking, Ohio boys are so hot as I succumbed to aphrodisiacial Athens air.  One looker after another, leaving me wondering, why wasn’t I so lucky at Kent the previous year?  Oh well, just one more reason why OU most definitely was the school for me. 

You never know the biggest day of your life is the biggest day…not until it’s happening.  You don’t recognize the biggest day of your life, not until you’re right in the middle of it.  The day you commit to something or someone.  The day you get your heartbroken.  The day you meet your soul mate.  The day you realize there’s not enough time, because you wanna live forever. Those are the biggest days.  The perfect days(Grey’s Anatomy)

 

Nelson Dining Hall was the destination of our lunch.  We almost opted to go uptown instead but figured it was better to check out the dining hall food and take advantage for a free meal.  The dining hall was crowded by the time we arrived and finally found a spot with another student and his mother.  We had a nice simple conversation with them, but soon something else caught my eye.  Or rather, someone else.  The best looking guy in a silver-grey backwards cap, I’d ever seen just a table or two away.  Note: I have a fetish for hot boys in backwards baseball caps.  I cannot explain why either. 

They say when you meet the love of your life, time stops, and that’s true.   (Big Fish)

I couldn’t take my eyes off that boy.  There was just something about him that drew me in.  Something new, exciting, and most certainly intriguing, but also something familiar.  Like I’d seen him before (but I hadn’t, or at least that I know of now).  I kept him in my peripheral vision and noticed him looking at me too.  He was my type:  The all-American, athletic, but not trendy nor preppy, look  and it fit him perfectly.  I wished that I had the confidence to smile at him or even introduce myself, but yeah, that didn’t happen. 

I saw him a little bit after lunch, somehow ending up in the same classroom for another session.  As soon as I saw him walk in my mind said, “Ohmygosh, that’s the hot boy from the dining hall.”  Again I had my eye on him and thought he may have seen me too.  The butterflies took over me and I told myself to stay calm.  Oddly enough we were  both placed in the wrong room, amongst education student with neither of us were, and after recognizing that we both ending up dismissing ourselves.  I left first, with him following me.  I wanted to wait for him out in the hall; Introduce myself; Say something cute & clever, but those dang butterflies prevented me from doing so.  Instead, I left wandering what if  for the first of many times with regards to the ‘hot boy from the dining hall”.  Before leaving that day, back to Hampton, I whispered, “I’ll see you again.”  Little did I know that I really would…again and again. 

Seven years.  Wow.  All I can do is think of the scene from The Notebook when Allie & Noah rekindle their love:

Allie: Why didn’t you write me? Why? It wasn’t over for me, I waited for you for seven years. But now it’s too late.
Young Noah: Yes… it wasn’t over, it still isn’t over [kisses Allie]

I’ll always wonder if he remembers seeing me that day too…but no matter what, I’ll never forget seeing him.

______________________________________________________________________________________________

We were both young when I first saw you.  I close my eyes and the flashback starts… (Taylor Swift, Love Story)

3 thoughts on “we were both young when i first saw you. i close my eyes and the flashback starts…

  1. i have an orientation story like that too. mine led directly to… well, a lot of what you read about over at my place these days. but i had exactly that same experience when i first met him; that sense that all the lines in the room shifted a little as soon as i set eyes on him. i knew nothing would ever be the same.

    at least i was right in that regard…

Leave a Reply

