the past is only a memory away

There’s a big world out there. Bigger than prom, bigger than high school, and it won’t matter if you were the prom queen or the quarterback of the football team or the biggest nerd.  Find out who you are and try not to be afraid of it.    (Drew Barrymore)

The irony that is my life is the fact that I didn’t want to graduate from high school nor did I even want to go to college.  In fact I remember a Sunday morning when I had a meltdown, telling my parents that “college just wasn’t for me”.  This was after the fact that I reconsidered my college choice, deciding to forgo my previous agreement to attend OU and instead embark on a freshman year at Kent State, so just imagine how frustrated they were with me.  Anyways, this post isn’t about that and we all know now that I went to Kent and then transferred to OU.  Gosh, I couldn’t imagine what life would be like if I really didn’t go to college.  Thanks, Mom & Dad!

Whether you know me personally or as a blogger, you probably know that I neither live in my hometown nor do I have much of a life there anymore.  However, once upon a (very long) time, I most certainly did and for that reason I have never fully abandoned my adolescent past.  There are too many wonderful people who I met through those experiences and too many lessons learned that I couldn’t erase if I tried…and boy did I try at times.  But I could never fully let go of the past.  The truth of the matter is that I’ll never forget where I came from.  Even though I don’t see myself ever moving back there- to Pittsburgh nor Hampton- I still do consider it my hometown.  A large chunk of my past is there, as well as my parents & brother and therefore, it’s always going to be home to me.  Unfortunately it’s just not where I’m meant to be.   

My lovely hometown of Hampton made national news today for two reasons.  For one, Taylor Lautner’s new movie, Abduction, is filming at my high school,  and two, Hampton Township was recognized as one of Top Ten Best Towns for FamiliesHere’s one big SERIOUSLY? for both of these stories.

Today I was definitely traveling down memory lane.  I felt like the girl from Hampton…who now lives in Chicago.  Actually today made me realize how much I’ve grown and while I’m still the girl from Hampton, I’m also the girl who left Hampton…went to Kent State…transferred to OU…graduated college…moved back in with her parents….then moved to Columbus…and eventually ended up in Chicago.  Because of all of this, I will never again be just the same girl I was when I only had “girl from Hampton” on my resume. We are the product of our experiences: the good, the bad, and the ugly.  In my case, I have been greatly impacted by all of the places that I’ve been since they let me out of “The Bubble” after graduation.  (Note: We used to call Hampton “The Bubble”.  Trust me, it’s fitting.)

I’m not really sure what I want to say from here, so maybe it’s time to call it a night instead.  First though, I will say that it was nice to journey back to Hampton today.  As I said in a previous post, Facebook is responsible for taking me back to my past every now and then, but today I truly felt like a version of that Hampton girl today.  And you know what…I kinda liked it. 

  ______________________________________________________________________________________________

Song of the Moment: The House That Built Me by Miranda Lambert 

2 thoughts on “the past is only a memory away

  1. i know the feeling. i loved growing up in my sleepy gulf-coast hometown… until i got a sense of what the rest of the world was like, and then i couldn’t wait to get out. i did; i turned tail and ran. then after a year at college that was nothing like what i thought it would be, i went back home for a year to lick my wounds, regroup and try again. when i left the nest that time, it was for good.

    i now appreciate my hometown for what it is and what it was. but would i live there again? never.

    1. In my funk-y days I slightly wish that I loved my hometown enough to want to stay there, marry someone from my high school, raise a family, etc etc. But like you, that’s not the life for me. However I love being able to always go home and enjoy a few carefree days.

Leave a Reply

