happy birthday, stef!

Happy Birthday to you, Stef!! 

Yesterday was my dear friend/ Chicago sanity’s birthday!!  Due to unforseen issues with my laptop’s charger, yet again, I wasn’t able to give her the post she so graciously deserves.  But instead, I was able to provide her with a lovely, filling dinner at Wilde’s and deliciousness at Paciugo for gelato.  Both deserve an A.MAY.ZING.

I’ve shared my love for Wilde’s before (mmm…sweet potato fries, and the Mac & Cheese is a must as well) and will continue to do so, but let me tell you how great Paciugo is!  Thank goodness Stef was there to help me through it, and the 6 samples that I had before many my choice of Soy-Based Green Tea (I know, I know…but it was wonderful) and Hazelnut (I think.)  Check out all of these flavors!! 

Let me tell you a little bit about Stef (whose birthday is June 21st).  I’ve known Stef since we were kids- literally.  We both grew up in Hampton (Pittsburgh, PA) and I recall photos of us, with our siblings, from birthday parties and preschool floating around the photo albums in my parents’ house.  Ironically we both attended Kent State at the same time as well, although she was a grade above me and stayed to graduate from there, as I left for OU (Oh Yeah).  And then, as fate would have it, we both ended up here in Chicago and eventually reconnected after my mom ran into Stef back in Hampton and we realized that it was finally time for us to meet up in this crazy city of ours…and the rest is history. 

Stef shared this quote with me a few weeks ago and, as she said, it perfectly explains how our friendship was resurrected in Chicago:   Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another, ‘What! You too? I thought I was the only one’. (C.S. Lewis)  It’s no secret here that Chicago hasn’t been a cup of tea for me; and unfortunately the same goes for Stef as well.  However, in a way, we are comforted knowing that 1) we are not the only one, and 2) that we have the other to lean on.   Being a single twentysomething in the city of Chicago is one commonality that will not bonds us together now, while we continue to survive this city, but for as long as she’ll call me a friend. 

I plan on writing more about Stef in many future posts so I’ll leave it at this for now.  Happy (belated) birthday, Stef!  I hope that this is the best year of your life, and I really do promise to do my part in ensuring that!  In a weird way, I hope we both stay stuck in Chicago for a little bit longer because now I cannot imagine being here without you!  Or perhaps we’ll both end up in a new city.  Thanks for everything.  Here’s to many more days/nights with you!

__________________________________________________________________________

We are what we believe we are. (C. S. Lewis)

2 thoughts on “happy birthday, stef!

  1. Best. 27th. Birthday. Ever. Thanks so much for making it that way and for letting me be in the “recipe” of your life! I’m looking forward to all of our future get-togethers (and trips to Paciugo…yum)!

Leave a Reply

