june series: the days doing nothing, you meant more to me then than i think you ever knew. but you were going to be a doctor, a movie star, a poet at a nobel seminar. i hope the world never tore that out of you.

As mentioned in a previous post, I am going to divulge the details from my past, well since graduating high school, up until this point.  This June marks my 4th anniversary as an Ohio U alum, and therefore I feel the need to look back on all of my Junes, beginning with June 2002- when I graduated from my alma mater, Hampton High School.

Let me start by sharing that the title of this blog comes from lyrics in the song, Our Last Night by Better than Ezra.  I continuously listened to their songs and Anna Nalick’s (2 am, as one example) to help get me through the final quarter of my college career.  It was a rough couple of months for me- battling anxiety and fear of the unknown- but also one of the most unforgettable times of my life, as my incredible friends and I opted to make the best of the last of our college days.

June 2006.  The photos here are from one those unforgettable days in Athens with some of my friends.  We spent the afternoon at Stroud’s Run before heading back to our apartment for a cookout.  It was there that someone introduced the idea of venturing up to the infamous Bong Hill.  (From Left to Right: Jenny, Ashley, Me, Jenni (aka Bafafa), Steve (aka Rook), and Jay)  Yes, it’s called Bong Hill for a reason but somehow we were sober that day.  (And I’m not sure why I was wearing one of Jay’s toy policeman hats, nor why he has one.) 

I love this photo so much.  That was such an A.MAY.ZING. view of the entire campus of Ohio University.  This photo is from four years ago and I can still remember how serene that moment felt and how memories of my three years in Athens flashed before my eyes providing me a fraction of closure to make the goodbyes a little bit easier.

Who am I kidding?  Nothing was easy about those last few weeks in college.  Each day made it more real.  The end was drawing near, which meant goodbyes were coming up.  I am horrible with goodbyes. 

Soon it was the last week of college and I found myself balancing finals and final papers with good solid friend time.  I was such an emotional wreck that week but I somehow managed to push my way through it.  I had a little help from my friends and a very special professor of mine, Linda Rice, who noticed that I was struggling during the quarter. 

To be honest, that last week is a blur but I do remember some parts of the days.  Amidst the all-night writing and study sessions and trips to the library, there were some very special moments mixed in there as well.  So special to me, personally, that I’m going to keep them to myself- and the few that know the details of what this week had instore for me.  If I knew then what I know now…

I’ll say it again, I’m horrible with goodbyes.  And my parents will tell you that I’ve never handled change well either…but change was inevitable that week.  My final undergrad paper was turned in around 11:30 am on Tuesday morning and I can still remember convening with Libby and her roommate, Austin, outside on the steps of Alden Library.  Soon after I was headed to Stroud’s with Bafafa (aka Jenni) to relax for a few hours before going out for some Tuesday night fun.  Now let me say that during my senior year of college, Tuesday prooved to me the best night to go out- always a good time.  And this Tuesday night, the final Tuesday night in Athens, definitely did not disappoint.  With Joe and I both finishing up (for good) that day, we made plans to gather the troops for a night out…with plans to meet up with Casey later in the night.  Again, the memories are mine and nothing of major signifance (to an outsider) occurred.  I’ll just say that it was good to see him, and almost as important, I’m happy that Joe had a chance to hang out with him as well. 

While people encouraged me to get him (not Joe) to go home with me, I knew it wasn’t the right thing to do.  Instead, I went home with Joe- but not in that way.  Joe, my roommate Mike, and I walked back to the apartment building, and I ended up spending an hour outside with Joe just talking and reminiscing about our days since Dougan (our first dorm).  I love to end nights sitting and having a little heart-to-heart with your friends. 

Sidenote:  In my three years at OU, it was one of only a few planned nights out with him. (She pauses as intense regrets fills her head, and her heart.)

I’m going to stop here, but let me say that the June Series has not come to an end yet.  In a few days I head back to Athens, OH for a friends’ wedding.  The anticipation is already stirring up, as well as the emotions.  Another experience for this girl…

2 thoughts on “june series: the days doing nothing, you meant more to me then than i think you ever knew. but you were going to be a doctor, a movie star, a poet at a nobel seminar. i hope the world never tore that out of you.

  1. oh, “our last night.” that song cuts my heart out too, especially lately.

    transitions aren’t fair sometimes. it’s finally hitting me how hard it is to leave my law-school crew behind in louisiana. i really miss the hell out of those people, and i need them now more than ever. i would give a lot right now to be able to sit around the table at our mexican restaurant, sipping margaritas and hashing through the drama in our lives. sigh.

    this too shall pass. right?

    1. If you would have asked me that four years ago, I wouldn’t have believed that it would. But I sit here now saying that it will in time. If my blog is any indication, I still reminisce about my times with my friends but it’s easier now to think about them and our good old college days than it was in the past.

      You’ll always miss those people and wish that you could go back relive those days, but you’ll find the strength to move on gracefully.

      Some of my best friends are friends I’ve made since college, although I’m fortunate enough to still have my OUers in my life.

      Transitions are rough and I, too, know that it’s a time when you really need your friends. They are there! They’re always there. Even though you cannot meet them for margaritas, they’re still there for you. Never forget that.

Leave a Reply

