most days of the year are unremarkable. they begin, and they end, with no lasting memories made in between. most days have no impact on the course of a life.

On paper it would appear that today was just another typical summer Sunday in Chicago; however, to me, it was so much more.  Today was a day that I won’t forget because it was another example of how the simple things in life are always the best. 

Now I’d prefer not to spend my Sunday morning waking up at 6 am, but it was worth it.  A few weeks ago Stef and I had decided to sign up for the 5K Walk/Run at the Lincoln Park Zoo.  We met at Starbucks around 7:30 for some much-needed caffeine.  Why?  Why not?  After all, we were awake on a weekend morning before the hour of 9 am to workout.  Yes, sir.  We deserve some Starbucks magic.  Morning magic we got, but we also got some additional mini-treat in the form of a 3-year old named Mia.  What a cutie and a little social butterfly.  (She reminded me of an older version of Hazel.)  Her mother, who is 8-months pregnant, was wonderful as well.  What a great way to start off a Sunday morning: coffee, new ‘friends’, and time with Stef. 

Background: So I believe that I’ve known Stef since elementary school, if not before then, and we grew up in the same neighborhood back in Pittsburgh.  (Hampton Township to be exact.)  And coincidentally we both attended Kent State (before I transferred), and are now living in Chicago.  After a few emails here and there over a year, we finally met up and now I anticipate more hang-out sessions, brunches, and walk n’ talks while we’re both still living in this city.

I am choosing not to share our conversations on here because frankly there is too much to write, but I will say that my time with Stef today was wonderful!  Since we last met for brunch a few weeks ago, we have realized more and more the similarities we share (with regards to our respective situations).  While there’s more to it than this, being single and in the city are two major commonalities that will bring any females together these days.  But like I said, there’s a lot more to it than just these two things. 

Stef shared this quote with me and I honestly couldn’t have said it any better myself.  So simple, yet so true: 

Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another, ‘What! You too? I thought I was the only one. (C. S. Lewis)

I’m watching the first Sex and the City movie right now, and the New Year’s Eve scene is on.  Carrie and Miranda are both spending the evening by themselves, struggling separately with their loneliness and heartache.  Carrie, not being able to stand the thought of Miranda being alone in her misery, she treks through the snow-covered streets of NYC (riding the subway) to make her way to one of her three soulmates.  When she arrives, she says to Miranda, “You’re not alone.”

Since first seeing this scene years ago, I used to think of my dear friend, Libby.  I knew that I, as Carrie, would do the same thing for my friend, Libby (as Miranda). 

Now I sit here watching the scene and thinking of all of the girlfriends that I would do the same for.  Now since I’m afraid of leaving someone out, I am not going to begin listing names.  Let’s just say that if I’ve written their name in previous posts, then you can absolutely imagine that I would trek across a city in my pajamas for them…one any day/night of the year.  

How lucky am I to have friends like that, let alone so many?  As I frequently discuss with Stef and other friends of mine, it’s tough being away from friends, especially during the rough patches that we’re oh-so familiar with.  However, as Carrie Bradshaw once said:

After all, things change, so do cities, people come into your life and they go. But it’s comforting to know that the ones you love are always in your heart… and if you’re very lucky, a plane ride away”

4 thoughts on “most days of the year are unremarkable. they begin, and they end, with no lasting memories made in between. most days have no impact on the course of a life.

    1. We did enjoy it but ended up walking. I guess we missed the 5K run start time, but the walk was a perfect time to catch-up.

    1. Agree. I sometimes just think of that scene and tear up.

      I read a quote from SJP in Marie Claire last week where she said something along the lines of, “That show (SATC) has changed my relationships with my girlfriends.”

Leave a Reply

