fml: is it may, or is it march?

Nothing says springtime in mid-May like a winter cold.  Apparently my blahness these past few days was the beginning of a good old-fashioned winter cold.  Talk about perfect timing, right?  With being completely unmotivated to even attempt a workout last night, I wondered if I was feeling more than just stressed and blah, but reasoned that I didn’t have time to think such fables.  No such luck.  What started off as a little headache and sore throat soon developed into an unexpected barking cough.  Rut roh.  I called it an early night, but unfortunately woke up this morning with a sore throat and ear ache.  Still I grinned and bared it and made the trekk to Skokie.  Bad idea.  After three hours of working, my faux-energy was replaced my a fever.  Yeah, it was time to head home, but of course that in itself is an adventure.  There’s nothing worse than a two-hour commute when you have a fever.  And yes, during this dreadful commute I continually asked my feverish self, ‘Is this really worth it?’   Self said ‘No’.

I immediately felt a bit better when I got home, but my energy is still non-existent.  I’m using this as an excuse to rest, especially since I just semi-committed to staying in Columbus for an extra day this weekend.  Why not do another overnight bus trip and then work on Monday?  Seriously, why do I still live in Chicago and not Ohio?

So yeah.  I’m relying on Zicam to get me through this weekend, and lots of Crystal Light OJ, cough drops, and caffeine.  And I just confirmed with Jen that there will be hot tub time on Friday night with her dad’s homemade red wine.  Again, why am I not back in Columbus yet?

Now I intended to write this wonderful post that was inspired my a Facebook message exchange between Alisha and me today.  However, that’s just not going to happen.  Trust me, I’m saving your time and energy here so you don’t have to try to interpret my ramblings.  Maybe tomorrow? 

In the meantime, does anyone have any recommendations to help me overpower this cold?  Symptoms are mainly sore throat, earache, headache, and little feverish (here and there).  Selena told me that I need to ‘eat’, since this is my third or fourth cold this winter.  I blame the ridiculousness of Chicago weather (and maybe being a bit run-down), but is there something magical that you’re supposed to eat to cure a cold? 

PS. I’m one of the few who doesn’t watch American Idol, but I saw this performance and always love listening to this song.  It’s too great of a cover not to share with you, so enjoy. 

Crystal Bowersox & Lee DeWyze Duet- Falling Slowly- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DNo9HUtrr8E

 

One thought on “fml: is it may, or is it march?

Leave a Reply

