at least it’s not monday

At least it’s not Monday.  That’s what I have to say as I begin this post.  It may not be the most dreaded day of the week, but my lack of energy is making me question if it really is Tuesday or just another Monday.  Fingers crossed for Tuesday. I don’t know perhaps I caught a bug or maybe it’s just the weather.  Is anyone else having ridiculous weather today?  No surprise here, but it is completely grey in Chicago today- and windy of course.  I swear it must be winter again.  Did I accidentally hibernate through summer?  Seriously.  Doesn’t last summer feel like it was ages ago?

Obviously with this little ramble of mine you can probably guess that today has not been my day.  Work was blah.  The commute was blah.  The weather was mucho blah.  And right now i just feel blah, blah, blah.  I didn’t even bother trying to work out and instead I’m wrapped up in my OU sweatshirt blanket with the glasses on.  I wouldn’t be surprised if I’m in bed after I watch Dancing with the Stars– which honestly I’m not even sure why I bother staying up to watch that anymore.

There were a few good things about today, one being that I received a sweet little email from Darlene when I got to work this morning.  It was right before my wacky co-worker got in so that helped me enjoy a few minutes of bliss in (blah) Skokie.  I also got talk to my lovely, injured friend Adriana on my way home today.  (Thinking of you, A.  Don’t forget to take some pain killers for me.)

So in between these two good moments, which accounts for at least 9 hours, there was only really one good thing about today, and to her surprise, it has to do with my friend, Pen Pal, and ‘sister’, Alisha.  Not having a chance to catch up with her in the last few days, I decided to check her blog, Humdrum Thoughts and Happening.  I was so happy to see a new post, but I had no idea how much this post was going to affect me.

Let me back up for a second.  Alisha is a student at my alma mater, Ohio University, and I’d be lying if I didn’t say that I’m so jealous that she gets to spend the next year in Athens, OH- one of my favorite places in the world.  For those of you who may not be familiar with OU, first it is not OSU (The Ohio State University/ Buckeyes).  But yes, OU is known as one of the top party schools and that’s how people mistakenly recognize it.  To me, and other alums, it’s just so much more.  It was the setting of many special friendships, learning experiences, growing pains, first love, heartbreak, and many ever-lasting memories.

I’m telling you this so you can understand the disappointment I share with Alisha after reading her blog.  (Visit her blog if you want to read it yourself.)  To summarize, Alisha shed light on the drunken festivities that define Spring Quarter at OU, as well as the unjustifiable behavior that has been taking place most recently.  Now I’m no prude nor am I naive.  I know that binge drinking happens and has been a growing cause for concern across college campuses everywhere, but I cannot understand what people are drinking (or smoking, etc.) that makes them act so foolish and/or inappropriate.  I could say so much more, but in essence, I’m just disappointed and downright flabbergasted.  Seriously, what gives people the right to behave so horribly, not to mention treat others with such disrespect?

When Alisha and I first became friends a few months ago, I mentioned to her that every time I venture back to Athens it feels less like ‘home’ to me.  These are reasons why.  It’s amazing and unfortunate how much things have changed since graduating four years ago.

I apologize for not going into details or causing you confusion with my rambling.  This post was more for me to applaud Alisha for being true to who she is and not compromising at the expense of what other people think she should be doing. This is just such an important lesson for everyone- at any age and in any situation.

Alisha, I’m so proud of you.  I know that it isn’t easy, but your actions are an inspiration to me.  Stay true.  Stay beautiful.

Leave a Reply

