alisha

Happy Birthday, Alisha!!

I know I’ve mentioned this dear friend of mine many times on this blog, but today is her birthday and I have to dedicate this post to her.  I met her back in January through our online Human Relations class.  After Alisha bravely opened up to the class about her anxiety, and everything in me told me that I had to reach out to her.  So I did and the rest is history.  Alisha’s is now my ‘sister’ and one of my closest friends.  Per her suggestion, which I LOVE, we are also Pen Pals- since she lives in Ohio and is attending my alma mater, OU.  Oh yeah, and like Darlene, we’ve never met!!  But I’m determined to meet them both before 2010 ends. 

As Darlene acknowledged today (and kudos to her for being a sweetheart in wishing Alisha a Happy Birthday through Facebook), Alisha is so special to me.  I am so proud of how much she’s grown in the past few months.  I wish I was as strong as she is when I was in college at OU.  I think that’s what drew me to Alisha in the first place.  I’m still haunted by the insecurities and anxieties I experienced in my younger years, but as I’ve learned, the past is in the pastThere’s no going back. 

Okay, back to the wonderful, A.MAY.ZING. Alisha.  I could type paragraphs about how special you are to me- as Darlene knows.  I am SO proud of you, A.  What you don’t see in yourself, I see.  I promise that I’ll be here to support you as long as you let me.  You are my sister now.  And, if I have it my way, you could be my sister-in-law.  My brother is a cutie AND I know how much you like Pittsburgh!  Call it FATE.

On my walk from the train to the gym for spin class, I decided to give Alisha a call.  To my pleasant surprise, her ringback tone (?) is Taylor Swift’s Fearless.  Yes, I am twenty-six and I am admitting that I LOVE LOVE LOVE Taylor Swift’s music.  This song perfectly fits my journey and Alisha’s.  FEARLESS is what we strive to be, and I have to admit, we’re getting closer to this goal every day.  We may not always see it in ourselves, but that’s what friends are for- to remind one another. 

As soon as I listened to this song today, I thought of you, birthday girl.  Another song to help you always remember: You’re braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.  (And I’ll be here to always remind you.) 

Lady Antebellum- One Day You Will

Happy Birthday, A.  Here’s to an A.MAY.ZING. year!!!

One thought on “alisha

  1. Awwwww, K! You’re going to make me cry 🙂 Thank you so much. Not just for this post, but for everything you’ve done and for always being there for me! Biological genomes notwithstanding, we ARE sisters! 🙂

Leave a Reply

