about last weekend: girls just wanna have fun (part 3)

When we last left our Bachelorettes, they were doing far too many shots- especially the beautiful bride-to-be.  Were our ladies too drunk and ready to call it a night?  Heck no!!  They were ready to dance on the stage!

By this time (perhaps 11-11:30 pm), the Piano Bar was pretty crowded with other Bachelorette parties and Friday night partiers.  Several parties had made their way on stage after requesting girlie songs and announcing their VIP members’ special occasion (future wedding or birthday).  Now it was our turn.  Ruth, being the dedicated Maid-of-Honor that she is, talked to one of the bouncers about how to best get the piano players to play her request:  Money, of course.  The best incentive of them all.  So Ruth took up a collection, which was easy since we were already all drunk and wanted to see Kristin enjoy her night. 

Finally the time came when Kristin was brought on stage for her rendition of Girls Just Wanna Have Fun.  I’ll let the photos speak for themselves.  (FYI: I’m the photographer, but I did evidentially make my way up on stage to join the girls.)  What an A.MAY.ZING. group of girls!!  So lucky to call them my friends.  And yes, they know how to have a good time, but they’re also like sisters to me- always there for me since we met years ago.  They’re also very protective of their ‘Minnie’, as I am of them.  Boys Beware.

After the dancing on stage, I made my way to the bar to get Kristin another drink.  (Did she really need one…probably not.)  As I was standing at the bar, I overheard a guy say to his friend, “I guess that’s the price you have to pay (for drinks) here in the big city.”  Okay, I really felt the urge to say something right away, but I decided to mind my own business instead.  But then he said something about ‘the big city’ again and I absolutely couldn’t resist.  “You think this is the ‘big city’?  Where are you from?”  His response, “Dayton.”  Dayton: the only city worse than Cleveland.  Now it made sense, and I very well may have said that out loud.  (Probably.) 

So of course my response prompted the good old Dayton boys to ask me where I was from, and as everyone in Ohio seems to agree, “Chicago is awesome!  I love Chicago!”  So we talked about my ‘love’ for Chicago for awhile- while the Dayton boys fell head-over-heels for me.  I told you, I’m not joking.  Ohio boys love me.  I’m their drug of choice.  However, I have to say that these Ohio boys are not always the most eligible Bachelors- unfortunately.  (Sidenote: I’m totally hearing Leighton Meester’s ‘Your Love is a Drug’ in the back of my head, and now you may as well hear it too.)

So Sarah being the wonderful friend that she is, saw me talking to these guys and came over to make sure I was okay.  That’s one thing I love about my girls.  We’re always watching out for one another- especially when we’re out drinking.  So I reassured Sarah that I was fine and brought her into the conversation.  I’m pretty sure we started talking about Chicago’s infamous hot dogs- which is one of Sarah’s favorite topics (not kidding).

After talking more about everyone’s love for Chicago and my realistic resident view of it (tourists just don’t see it the same as we do), we found out that Dayton boys went to the hockey game (Blue Jackets) and they received a team poster…which somehow, after a little convincing, perhaps…ended up in my possession to give to the loyal Blue Jackets’ fan and bride-to-be.  Making my way back to the table, after being gone for twenty minutes or so (missing the tequila shot…Amen to that), I presented the poster to our lovely bride.  Here she is kissing her longtime lover, Rick Nash.  I still remember the night she met him at Lodge Bar.  Seriously that girl was starstuck, for good reason. 

It had to have been around midnight by then…just in time for my third-cousin-whom-I’d-never-met, Ryan, to join us.  Let me rewind.  So when I was living in Columbus two years ago, my grandma just happened to talk to one of her second cousins, Kitty, only to discover that they both had grandchildren living there.  So they set us up.  Ryan and I began emailing, with him coming out to me in the second one.  More reason why I fell in love with him.  Gay Ohio men may love me just as much as the straight ones.  Anyways, Ryan and I almost met once at Pride Fest, but there was too much commotion and alcohol preventing that from happening.  Shortly after that, I moved to Chicago.  However we kept in touch over emails and Facebook.  He’s such a cutie.  So yeah, a few weeks ago I mentioned Kristin’s Bachelorette Party and I was so happy that he was able to meet up with me!  He’s even more adorable in person.  Just a great guy.

Around 1 o’clock, we decided to head over to Lodge Bar mainly because Kristin was hoping that her beloved Rick Nash would be there after the game.  (He wasn’t.)  Sarah took Ruth back to the hotel because she literally fell asleep at the bar.  (I guess that happens to her now?)  We got to Lodge Bar, which isn’t really a favorite of mine (too many college kids), but I was drunk enough and surrounded by good people to enjoy it.  To be honest, I don’t remember much about Lodge  Bar.  Yes, I was drunk.  I know that because I ended up spending at least 15-20 minutes at the bar talking to a couple about their relationship.  I always do this.  Drunk Kristen/ Minnie likes to hear what it’s like to be part of a (happy) couple.  I give you all permission to psychoanalyze me.  They were social like me so it was a fun conversation; however I knew that it was time to rejoin my friends. 

We didn’t last much longer at Lodge Bar and everyone was ready for their Street Meat.  (Gross.)  We stood at the gyro cart for a good 10-15 minutes, with Jackie stealing some guy’s cigarette from behind his ear.  (She doesn’t know why either.)  Jen and Carrie both decided to forgo staying with us in the hotel since they felt okay to drive, so I walked with them to their cars.  And course Jen and I couldn’t remember exactly where she parked.  Apparently I videotaped this at first, but I just sound really drunk on the audio so….delete. 

Jen dropped me off at the hotel and I headed upstairs.  Kristin was apparently waiting for me because she called me 2-3 times.  Guess who I got to spoon with that night?  Lol.  By the time I got to the hotel room, Ruth and Jackie were passed out.  Sarah was trying to Skype with her boyfriend, Ian, back in Bermuda, and Kristin may have been talking/texting her fiancée, Jim.  After changing I realized that my contact was lost somewhere in my eye, so Nurse Sarah performed hardcore surgery to get it out.  (She’s the best!) 

Sarah, Kristin, and I crammed into the bed- surprisingly comfortable- and we all passed out, putting an end to Friday night.  Three posts all to share the details of this night…WOW.  There’s so much more to highlight about this weekend.  Next post will be all about good times in Lancaster (L-Town)…

Leave a Reply

