living in the now like drew barrymore

I must first admit that it wasn’t until recently that I’ve become a fan of Drew Barrymore.  She’s still far from one of my favorite actresses, but lately I’ve found myself respecting her as a person.  She’s such a warm, beautiful, honest & free spirit; someone who has a positive outlook on life and truly just lives.  I was reading an article on Jennifer Aniston last night and she even commented on the Drew’s demeanor and how it’s impacted her own life: “I love it when people are living in the now, like her. I hate when people look back and regret what they haven’t got. That’s’ how I feel about my own life now.”

In doing a little googling of Drew Barrymore quotes last night and this morning, I came across this one which that agrees with my own personal philosophy on living life with no regrets & learning through every single experience: “I never regret anything. Because every little detail of your life is what made you into who you are in the end.” (Drew Barrymore)

I couldn’t have said it better or more simplistic myself.  As I’ve either hinted at or directly said through and outside of this blog, we are the product of our successes, failures, mistakes, friends, loves, heartbreaks, etc. …each and every experience makes us who we are and who we’re becoming.  This is something that we much truly believe and accept in order to understand.  These aren’t just words: It’s a way of life.  Yes, there are absolutely going to be funky, PMS days- but that’s part of life.  It’s knowing that you can and will overcome all of the obstacles thrown in your course is what life is all about.  As I’m writing this, I’m reminding myself of this truth.

Let me keep going on my love for all things Drew Barrymore- with the exception of that God-awful Home Fries movie.  (First movie I ever walked out on.)  Anyways, since as far back as I can remember, I’ve been brainwashed to believe that…drumroll please…everything happens for a reason.  These were the words that I lived and breathed for years; believing that things are always happening that I cannot control.  Okay, this is and is not entirely true.  In my Human Relations course, Dr. Shostak switched this statement around to make us understand that we have the control in our hands.  He said that ‘we give reason to everything that happens.”  While I’d never heard it put that way before, in thinking about it I absolutely agree.  Just think about it yourself. 

Let me say that I’ve been a girl for 26 1/2 years now and a friend to many others for most of that time, so I’ve probably spent years of my life trying to find a reason as to why things happen.  Sometimes it’s as clear as day, while others take years to finally understand it.  But as Drew states in the quote box about, it’s important to figure out what the reason (without killing yourself in doing so) because it helps you learn and connect more with the most important person in your life: YOU.

One last Drew quote for you: Life is very interesting… in the end, some of your greatest pains, become your greatest strengths.  So true, so true. ♥K 

Leave a Reply

