together and apart

This bad day improved a bit as I just spent an hour on the phone with my dear friend Ruth. (First from the left in the photo.  The others are Kristin, Jackie, and Sarah.)  This crew were the ones responsible for introducing me to the bar scene in Athens and for all of those drunken, blurry/forgotten nights.  Don’t judge them too harshly.  That was how it was at OU and I’m just grateful that I had these four lovelies- amongst others- to show me the ropes. 

Ruth, Kristin, and Sarah all went to high school in Lancaster, OH- which is halfway between Columbus and Athens.  Jackie is from Erie and was ones of my roommates at 10 Hocking along with Kat, Karrie, and Rebecca.  Anyways, Kristin & Sarah were living in Lancaster when I lived in Columbus two years ago and I was fortunate to see Ruth when she was in town.  Oh the stories I could tell you, but let’s just say we had some A.MAY.ZING. times.  Believe it or not, Ruth, Kristin, Sarah, and I have all (somehow) slept in Sarah’s bed together (drunk of course), waking up with some of the worst hangovers known to mankind. 

So I talked to Ruth about Kristin’s upcoming Bachelorette Party in Columbus (April 9th).  Just talking to Ruth reminded me of how much I wanted to be there.  The five of us haven’t hung out since our drunken OU days!!  I have to go.  I know I’ll regret not going.  Do the things you’d regret not doing, Kristen.  Remember you may this promise to yourself.

It was so nice to talk to Ruth.  She actually lived in Chicago a few years ago, moving to California a couple of months before my relocation.  As I told her, I wish she was still here.  I had a great time talking to her- with lots of laughs and reminiscing- making me feel a lot better than I was earlier today.  As I said to Ruth, and is no surprise to anyone here, most of my A.MAY.ZING. friends live far, far away from here- Ohio, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Washington DC, California, Georgia, Virginia, New York, Bermuda (sorry if I forgot you!) 

It’s so hard to be away from my friends, but I’d rather have them in my life (somewhere) than not have them at all.  On bad days like today, I just have to remember that they’re there for me- no matter where they live.  And luckily I have Karrie here to stop over (with Starbucks!) and help me know that I’m not alone.  That’s the hardest thing on bad days like today, you feel alone.  But thanks to Ruth and Karrie, I can end this day remembering that I’m not. 

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants popped into my mind while I was writing about these girls.  Ironically we all ened up living in different cities now: Ruth (San Francisco area), Kristin (Columbus), Jackie (Erie, PA), Sarah (Bermuda), and me (Chicago, in case you didn’t know).  The beauty of my friendship with them is that no matter how much time passes in between our visits, I always know that I can count on them.  ♥ K

 

Some things never would be
But we know now that no matter how far we traveled on our own separate paths…
Somehow we would always find out way back to each other.
And with that, we could get through anything.
(The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants)

Leave a Reply

