something to think about

This quote from Grey’s Anatomy (Season 5) popped into my mind during my back-to-back spin classes tonight…

You never know the biggest day of your life is the biggest day. Not until it’s happening. You don’t recognize the biggest day of your life, not until you’re right in the middle of it. The day you commit to something or someone. The day you get your heart-broken. The day you meet your soul mate. The day you realize there’s not enough time, because you wanna live forever. Those are the biggest days. The perfect days.

Izzie Stevens, Grey’s Anatomy

Okay, I’ll explain.  First off, doing 1.5 hours of spinning after a long day at work is both therapeutic and exhausting.  The exhausting part is what causes the mind to wander, especially during that second class.  (But trust me, it’s worth it.)  Anyways, during class today I was just thinking about my trip to Columbus and being back in Chicago.  Today was a little bit of a culture shock because the lifestyles I lead in these two cities are completely opposite.  In my perfect city, I would combine components of both- ie. public transportation and convenience of Chicago with my friends and cost of living of Columbus.  Let’s call it Chibus. 

So being back in Chicago gives me a lot more time to think- which proves to be both a good and bad aspect.  Too much thinking is never good (for me), but I’ve also learned that it’s important to take time for yourself and reflect.  Since moving here about 16 months ago, I’ve taken a lot of time to improve myself.  And in the past couple of months, I’ve really taken it upon myself to help others do the same.  One thing to know about me is that I hate to see other people unhappy- especially my family and friends.

Anyways, back to the quote.  Last week I declared that I was letting go/moving on, once and for all.  While it was implied for one main aspect of my life, it really pertained to my new outlook on life: Live with no regrets.  Take chances.  Do not let doubt hold you back.  Be fearless.   

This quote (obviously) serves as a reminder to live freely.  Before last week’s declaration, I allowed something to hold me back from having big days.  That’s what happens when you experience heart break-because you’re afraid of getting hurt (again).  It’s as though you live in a colorless world.  Every day is some shade of grey; But those days are over now. 

As Julie’s lovely (obviously mistranslated) fortune cookie said- Colors, colors, colors all around you.  Enjoy them.  We’re much more happy in a colorful world than with the gloomy shades of grey.  That’s why Chicago winters are so depressing.  We need colors to light us up and make our days brighter.  We never know what tomorrow holds, and that’s the beauty of life.  Tomorrow may be the biggest day of your life…but of course you don’t know that today.  Maybe that’s the secret…hope that tomorrow will be the biggest day of your life.  That thought alone will prevent you from holding back.   I love this quote: I believe in love, but I don’t sit around waiting for it.  (Renee Zellweger) 

The reasons that I moved to Chicago in the first place were because 1) I didn’t want to regret not doing; and 2) I decided not to wait for life to happen- instead I wanted to make it happen.  Seize the Day.  Now you need to know that this was a HUGE risk for me and something far out of my comfortable zone.  But guess what, I survived.  And knowing that, I believe I can handle, well, anything. 
 
There’s one thing I’ve yet to fully take on, but you know what, I think I’m ready for that.  Be fearless, right?   ♥ K

 

Leave a Reply

