fearless

Somehow it’s already the last week of my online Human Relations class.  The past 10 weeks are such a blur, but I’m sad to see it end.  Anyways, on the Discussion Board today I posted my response to one of our practice exercises.  The assignment was to discuss something that you’re afraid of in order to spin it around and figure out how to overcome this barrier.  In thinking about where I am today, and comparing it to where i was not too long ago, I realized that I really don’t have any more fears.  I have overcome so many doubts of mine in the past 1.5 years (since moving to Chicago) that I’m at the point where I know I’m capable of overcoming anything.  Fearless.  That’s what I strive to be. 

I like this quote by Christian Bale.  He said: I tend to think you’re fearless when you recognize why you should be scared of things, but do them anyway. 

To be fearless is not to be some emotionless superhero.  Instead it’s to know that there are risks, but to acknowledge that the risks are worth the reward.  In fact as my professor put it, “no risks, no gain”.  If you do not take risks than you are preventing yourself from growing.  It’s not easy.  I know.  Start by taking little steps.  Tackle the small barriers in your life.  With each obstacle you overcome, you’ll gain more confidence and strength to face the next.  Before you know it you’ll be wondering why you were ever afraid of anything at all.  Truly A.MAY.ZING.

I also love this part of Pink’s Glitter in the Air: “…look fear in the face and say I JUST DON’T CARE.”

For me, I’d rather take risks and even make mistakes than to regret not doing anything at all.  Regrets are something I’ve lived with in the past and they’re the most haunting and mentally/emotionally draining thing.  And to be honest, life is just too short to let your doubts, fears, and regrets hold you back.  Trust me I’ve learned the hard way.

Be Fearless. ♥ K

2 thoughts on “fearless

  1. Absolutely! You have a boy now that doesn’t fear them, so by all means it’s okay. You can keep your fearless card. I approve.

Leave a Reply

