i might look the same, but i’m a little different now

This weekend while catching up on some of my DVR shows, I discovered Gemma Hayes.  Now if I haven’t said it before I’ll say it now, I am a quotes & lyrics girl.  You’ll see this throughout my posts if you haven’t noticed it already.  I believe it’s the writer in me.  As Adriana said before about herself, I too love words. I’ll be immediately captivated by certain lines from a TV show, movie or song lyric, a quote in a novel and/or note from a friend’s email.  It seems so simple, but purely magical to me.

I’ll admit that sometimes I interpret the meaning of quotes & lyrics differently based on my current situation or at least where my mind is at the time.  Listening to Gemma Hayes’ songs, these two lines stood out to me, and I’ll explain why:

  • We will find a way; To make it through these days (November)
  • I might look the same, but I’m a little different now (Oliver)

 

The lyrics to November noted above seem suitable, given my situation as a twenty-six year old trying to find her way in the world; searching for something; and trying to let go of the past.  Adriana and I are always supporting and encouraging one another that we are stronger than we think we are, and to keep our faith.  Sometimes the hardest thing for me to is to remember to breathe and keep a postive outlook. 

As for the second set of lyrics….where do I begin?  The song is about how Oliver broke the singer’s heart.  Broken heart.  Check. (minus the ‘Oliver’ name).  Pain.  Check.  Emotional suffering.  Check.  Scars. Check.  Shall I continue?

Another great line is, “You ripped the smile off my face.”  Now while she goes on to call him a ‘wicked boy’, that’s where the similarities differ.  My ‘Oliver’ was anything but wicked, nor can I call him such for the sake of making myself feel better. 

I think the smile was ripped off my face a long time ago.  In fact, I’m surprised when I find myself laughing.  Usually it’s a result of watching Ellen and the crazy things that happen on her show.

As for, I might look the same, but I’m a little different now…. This is me.  My scars may be covered, but they are there.  No one else notices it, but these scars have certainly affected me.  In fact I have a very difficult time remembering who I was before the scars.  Simply put, I’m just a little different now.

 

Leave a Reply

